Cancel and downgrade your Todoist Business subscription


Todoist Business offers powerful features for team productivity, but you may feel it doesn’t fit your team’s needs after all.

When you downgrade from Business, this automatically puts you back on the Beginner plan. You and your team will always keep existing workspace projects and tasks, but you’ll lose access to certain features and benefits. That’s all while squeezing back into lower account limits.

Downgrade from Business to the Beginner plan

Here’s a rundown of what you’ll still have access to, and what you’ll lose at the end of the trial or after canceling your subscription:

FeatureBusinessBeginner
Create new team projects (including sub-projects)Up to 500 projectsUp to 5 projects
People per team project250 people250 people
People per team workspace1000 members (including guests)1000 admins (including max. of 5 guests)
Team activity historyFull historyUp to 7 days of activity logs
Team filters150 filters for each member3 filters for the whole team workspace
File size for comment attachments100 MB5 MB
Backups21 days’ worth of backupsAccess to the last 21 backups created before the downgrade
Project layoutsList, Board, and CalendarList and Board
AI featuresTask Assist, Filter Assist, and Email AssistFilter Assist
Ramble sessionsUnlimitedLimited
Customer ExperiencePriority email supportStandard email support

These feature limits go beyond the caps on your account usage. You lose flexibility, visibility, and valuable insights on how your team completes work and hits their key objectives.

Warning

If you’re absolutely sure you no longer need Todoist Business, and you’re ready to cancel, learn how to cancel your Business subscription.

What happens to team projects?

Downgrading to the Beginner plan lets you have just up to five team projects. Workspace admins will have to keep archiving or deleting existing projects to make room.

If you have more than five projects after downgrading your subscription, the five most recently created projects remain active, while all other older projects become view-only. For example, if you have 12 team projects, you can add or make changes to the five projects you most recently created. The 7 older projects become view-only.

With a view-only project, you can see the data, but you can’t make any changes. You’ll still receive task reminders and notifications about project activity, but you can’t add task duration, custom reminders, or deadlines to tasks.

View-only projects are marked with an exclamation mark icon in your sidebar. If you open them in Todoist, you’ll see a banner that displays its status. You can still view these projects, delete them, archive them, or move them to My Projects.

What if I have more than three filters?

You can only create or keep up to three custom or shared filters, and that’s for the entire workspace. This limits your team from creating and sharing powerful filters that can provide better visibility, especially as you grow in size and complexity.

If you have more than three filters after downgrading your Business subscription, your filter data is retained; however, you can’t view any of that data until you upgrade to a paid subscription. 

Note

You can’t filter just for tasks in view-only projects; however, if tasks from a view-only project match the filter criteria, they’ll still appear in the filter view.

What happens to my Reporting history?

Can’t remember when that task comment got deleted? When you downgrade, you’ll only have access to just seven days’ worth of activity history. In Reporting, anything beyond 7 days won’t load for you.

Can I download backups?

Backups are only included in paid plans, so you lose that safety net in case a task or project was deleted accidentally. You’ll still have access to the last 21 backups that were created before canceling your subscription.

Will I still have Admin-only features and privileges?

On the Beginner plan, everyone who joins your free team workspace becomes an admin. This means anyone can:

  • access any project
  • add a project
  • make changes to projects
  • archive or delete projects
  • add or remove people from projects
  • add or remove people from the team workspace

Files can’t be larger than 5 MB

You can only attach documents and media that are less than 5 MB in size. Uploading large files to tasks, like large, high-def images or videos, will throw a “File is too large” error message. You’ll be linking to those larger files from third-party apps.

Cancel your Business subscription

If you understand what happens when you downgrade from Todoist Business, follow the steps to cancel your Business subscription. 

Admins are the only ones who can cancel the subscription. If you’re an admin of the team workspace, you can only access team billing through the Todoist web and desktop apps. 

Once you’ve canceled the subscription, you’ll still have access to all the features included in Todoist Business until the end of your subscription period. After that, your account will downgrade to the Beginner plan.

Change the subscription to Todoist Pro

If you initially had a Todoist Pro subscription, and you started a 14-day trial for Todoist Business, your Pro subscription ends immediately. The remaining time is converted into a credit, which you can use to start a new Pro subscription. If your trial ends, and you decide to continue using Todoist Business, you can’t apply the credit from your Pro subscription to the upgrade.

If you downgrade from Todoist Business to the Beginner plan, but you’d like to upgrade to Todoist Pro after, start a new Pro subscription after your Todoist account is back on the Beginner plan. Any existing credit applies automatically when you subscribe through the Todoist website with a credit or debit card. Credit can't be used for App Store or Google Play subscriptions. 

Although you won’t have access to team-specific features, you’ll still benefit from all the paid features in Todoist:

FeatureBusinessPro
Create new team projects (including sub-projects)Up to 500 projectsUp to 300 projects
People per project250 people5 people
Activity historyFull team activity historyFull history
Filters150 team filters for each member150 filters
File size for comment attachments100 MB100 MB
Backups21 days’ worth of backups21 days’ worth of backups
Project insightsFull insightsProject Health, Progress, and Completed
Project layoutsList, Board, and CalendarList, Board, and Calendar
AI featuresTask Assist, Filter Assist, and Email AssistTask Assist, Filter Assist, and Email Assist
Ramble sessionsUnlimitedUnlimited
Customer ExperienceHighest priority email support Priority email support

Get in touch

Todoist Business is an investment in your team’s efficiency and productivity. If you feel unsure whether the Business plan fits your needs, get in touch with us to talk about your setup and what’s best for your team.