+ Add Question

Export options


Would you consider for future functionality improvements?

1/ Export project, label or whole tasks list to CSV?
2/ Export of task - sometimes I want to email my direct reports a task I've just assigned them

All responses

Brendon Wadey  staff
Replied on Jul 18, 2014 - 19:05 UTC

Hi Terry,

Yes thank you. We will take these into consideration, and we appreciate all the suggestions you are giving :)


Replied on Aug 22, 2014 - 04:18 UTC

Hi Brendon, i'd support the email-tasks feature. is it planned already?

David Trey  staff
Replied on Aug 22, 2014 - 11:12 UTC

Hello Markus,

Right now it's not something we're working on, but we will consider it in the future.


Jonathan Morris
Replied on Sep 05, 2014 - 23:04 UTC

David how can we take your comments seriously when nothing ever happens to improve this export functionality? see your comments from 2 years go!!

David Trey STAFF
Replied on Jun 29, 2012 - 00:34

unfortunately, there is no import/export feature in Todoist right now, but we will certainly consider adding it in the future.

You're welcome to add your votes for this request: http://todoist.com/Vote/showProposal/30/

Best regards,

Kerim Friedman  premium
Replied on Oct 07, 2014 - 23:57 UTC

I find it shocking to learn that not only is there no export feature, but it isn't even planned!!! Shame on the developers for not respecting users right to their own data.

Trish Putnam
Replied on Oct 08, 2014 - 17:11 UTC

Kerim, you can export, it's just tedious and not actually portable to another system without some serious formatting.

Replied on Nov 01, 2014 - 16:06 UTC

Here is what I find so odd about this. Todoist can email me my overdue tasks as a daily email, so obviously the functionality to email tasks to myself is already there in the code. What can be so hard about making a modification to trigger a report to send tasks to my email when I want them.

If it can filter the tasks and just send the overdue items, how hard could it be to have it allow me to use one of the filters I've created and send me those tasks in an email, or better yet, as a text or csv file?

The lack of this feature baffles me. Obviously from all the posts about it, and how long its been asked for tells me there is plenty of interest in that feature. So why aren't you listening to your customers?

Biff  premium
Replied on Feb 04, 2015 - 00:18 UTC

Bring on the export feature.

Jonathan  premium
Replied on Mar 07, 2015 - 16:00 UTC

FYI David and Brendon,

Here is what I speculate. There is no prioritization of export feature due to fear of it increasing user turnover. I speculate that you fear exporting will make it too easy to move elsewhere. Your customer retention philosophy seems to be a bit communistic versus free market.

Wow....that's a pretty large leap and audacious speculation for me to make - would you agree? Where does such wild speculation come from?

A vacuum of silence will always be filled by negative speculation. The longer the silence the more negative the speculation and firmer we believe our assumptions.

Only those who hold the truth can change that. Sooner or later, prolonged lack of transparency breeds mistrust. Trust breeds loyalty and builds relationships. Loyalty and relationships provide grace for weakness.

You have a great app, one of the BEST task apps. But it's imperfect as it always will be. What you need is loyalty and grace, but you can expect disloyalty, impatience and harsh criticism when you choose to be silent and stoic versus transparent.

Hate to see a great thing go down a lack of trust on both sides. Provide the freedom to come and go as we please with our data and you will gain needed grace and a loyal fan base. If someone is going to leave, wouldn't you rather have them leave happy rather than angry?

Galina Skovorodnikova  staff
Replied on Mar 07, 2015 - 16:13 UTC

Hi Jonathan,

Thanks a lot for your detailed feedback. We are very sorry to hear you are taking it this way. We really appreciate our users' suggestions and feedback and we read every single message on the forum. Sometimes we don't respond just because we don't have any updates on one or the other feature.

We totally agree that many features in our app require improvements. We do our best to bring all your reports and requests to the attention of our development team.

The export feature would be indeed great and helpful. It is on our list of things that we would really like to implement. We have a long list of users' suggestions. We are not able to develop all of them at one time. Some features/fixes take more time than the others.

Again, we really appreciate your feedback and understand your point. As soon as we have any news/updates from our devs on the export feature, we will gladly share with you.


Replied on Mar 07, 2015 - 20:18 UTC

Well the shame in this is that I stopped using ToDoist several months ago due to the lack of interest in your PAYING customers.

Many of the suggestions for features like this have come from people such as myself who have paid for the 'Premium' version. Based on that I began looking around and have been using the Todo app by appigo. They at least listen to their customers and make updates regularly rather than rest on their laurels. If I could get my money back that I spent on Todoist I would.

Danny  premium
Replied on Jun 09, 2015 - 21:12 UTC

No export feature?! I forgot to check about that before I paid for a premium account. How am I supposed to use this service if I can't get my data out of it?

I'm out of here! (-1)

Mikhail Dudarev  premium
Replied on Aug 05, 2015 - 11:47 UTC

Seriously need export feature too… Please add it as soon as possible.

Christina Richards  premium
Replied on Aug 25, 2015 - 05:46 UTC

Completely agree. Lack of ability to export is a shocking gap in capabilities, and will probably result in me choosing to end service.

Charlie Brown  premium
Replied on Sep 23, 2015 - 01:30 UTC

I'm sorry, but the "we don't have anything new to report" answer just doesn't cut it. People have been asking for this feature for three years. Almost every one of your competitors offers it.

You have a fine product. But please cut the nonsense about multiple demands. This feature is one repeatedly requested by users -- most of whom, like me, have premium accounts -- and you've not acted upon the requests.

I'm not a coder, but it seems to me that if you can 'export' your data to google calendar, it shouldn't be that much harder to export it to a data file.

Really, enough with the excuses.

Charlie Brown  premium
Replied on Sep 23, 2015 - 01:34 UTC

One other thing: it would be very simple, very customer-friendly, and very transparent to blog about what are the most-requested-not-yet-implemented features. You must track this. And by sharing the information with users, we would know what statements such as "We have a long list of users' suggestions" actually means.

Your opacity in this area is not consistent with your otherwise fine product.

Reid Curry  premium
Replied on Sep 25, 2015 - 16:20 UTC

Gauging feedback:


Let me know if you are interested.