+ Add Question

Tasks not refreshing

KP

I accessing Todoist on iPhone and Chrome/Gmail plug-in on multiple windows machines. I am finding that tasks which were moved or completed on one device do not always reflect that on the other device. I need to log out of todoist and log back in to get the proper refresh.

All responses

David Trey  staff
Replied on Jun 01, 2014 - 13:50 UTC

Hello Keith,

Please tell me, can you reliably reproduce this issue? That is - are there any specific circumstances under which this bug occurs? For example, does it always happen if you make a change on the iPhone or in Chrome or always when the change was made offline and was supposed to sync later?


Best regards,
David

N
nihonsuteibun  premium
Replied on Jun 02, 2014 - 09:55 UTC

I have the same issue. In sync across native apps (iphone, ipad, android) but some items not refreshed in web (chrome).

N
nihonsuteibun  premium
Replied on Jun 02, 2014 - 10:02 UTC

Seems to correct on logout and login.

Clyde Romo  staff
Replied on Jun 02, 2014 - 10:04 UTC

Hi,

Did this just started recently? As an initial step, can you please log-out and log back in again. Please observe if you get the same problem after doing the step above.

Please note that we shouldn't need to this every time this happens. If the issue still persist, please let us know so we can report it to our devs.

Best Regards,

Clyde

KP
Keith Pieper  premium
Replied on Jun 03, 2014 - 05:37 UTC

I can't appear to intentionally reproduce this. However, I can tell you
that this evening I opened my Chrome browser and gmail to find two "overdue
tasks" from 17 days ago which I know were completed or moved. I relogged in
and it was refreshed AOK. However, just an instant later I logged into
todoist.com to find two DIFFERENT tasks which are overdue which I
previously completed. I apparently need to completely log out of the
Todoist and relogin to refresh this as well. I use an iPhone 5s app to make
updates and will monitor changes here.

Gaëlle  premium
Replied on Jun 03, 2014 - 09:36 UTC

Hi David, I'm encountering a similar issue that is reproduced over all my chrome users (I use 3 actively), gmail and devices (two macbook pro laptop). It's quite annoying and been going on for several weeks. What is happening? (doh)

Just the desktop mac app and iPhone app is not encountering the bug. :-)

Looking forward to your feedback! :-D

Gaëlle  premium
Replied on Jun 03, 2014 - 09:39 UTC

ps: indeed it gets corrected on logout and login again (which wasn't the case a few days back)...

Clyde Romo  staff
Replied on Jun 03, 2014 - 10:12 UTC

Hi Gaëlle,

Sorry to hear that you have been having sync issues for weeks already. Just to clarify, do you have specific steps to be able to reproduce the sync issues that you've been encountering. We're certainly committed to fixing these sync issues and we have made improvements on our end but unless we can replicate the issue ourselves, it's rather difficult to pinpoint the source of the problem.

We do take these reports seriously and any relevant info gets reported back to our developers. Please let me know.

Best Regards,

Clyde

Gaëlle  premium
Replied on Jun 04, 2014 - 12:58 UTC

Hi Clyde,

thanks a lot for your prompt reply. :-)
I understand the trouble of not reproducing the issue. The specific steps that happened were if I work on my home computer and go the next day to work then the sync issues I mentioned above would take place. Now since I logged out of almost everywhere and re-logged in again everything seems to be back to normal again. I will let you know if it happens again.

Best wishes,

Gaëlle

Ash W  premium
Replied on Jun 04, 2014 - 13:07 UTC

I've been having the same issues - both in chrome and with my chrome extension - for a couple of months.

Perhaps a related issue: I've noticed that when I have a recurring task that I eventually decide I don't want to do anymore, but I don't want to delete it, I just edit the task and delete the due date entirely. A few days (or weeks) later, it seems to re-appear, NOT recurring, but several days overdue.

I'll see if I can reliably reproduce it.

Eduardo Ridaura  premium
Replied on Jun 13, 2014 - 11:48 UTC

A mi me ha ocurrido también, he completado tareas desde Android y en la aplicación windows están sinconizadas y por web también pero no en la extensión de Chrome

Clyde Romo  staff
Replied on Jun 13, 2014 - 12:08 UTC

Hi Eduardo,

Please try logging out and logging back in again in your Android app and Chrome extension as an initial step. Let us know if that didn't help.

Regards,

Clyde

Eduardo Ridaura  premium
Replied on Jun 14, 2014 - 10:31 UTC

Hola, de momento ha funcionado la solución de cerrar la sesión y volverla a abrir, no sé si volverá a ocurrir

Mr Louis  premium
Replied on Jun 15, 2014 - 09:40 UTC

At least I am not the only one ...

Clyde Romo  staff
Replied on Jun 15, 2014 - 10:32 UTC

Hi Louis,

I have replied on the other thread with the status of your issue.

Regards,

Clyde

Eduardo Ridaura  premium
Replied on Jun 16, 2014 - 11:16 UTC

Me ha vuelto a ocurrir de nuevo

David Trey  staff
Replied on Jun 16, 2014 - 11:54 UTC

Hello Eduardo,

Please tell me, did you try to completely delete and reinstall the app instead of logging out and back in? And if so - did the issue persists after that?


Best regards,
David

Eduardo Ridaura  premium
Replied on Jun 17, 2014 - 14:22 UTC

Ya lo hice, desintalé la extensión de chrome y volví a instalarla y ha vuelto a ocurrir

David Trey  staff
Replied on Jun 17, 2014 - 16:42 UTC

Eduardo,

Please tell me, are you using Todoist in the extension and also at the same time through the full web version in Chrome?

If so, please go to Chrome's Advanced Settings -> Content Settings -> All cookies and site data, delete todoist.com from this list, reload Chrome and then use Todoist either only on the web or only through the extension, but not through both simultaneously.


Best regards,
David

P
Pepa  premium
Replied on Jul 11, 2014 - 13:21 UTC

I've been having the same problems till I got my paid premium account (I don't know if there's nothing to do with each other, but it's really annoying to pay something just to see it works wrong when it worked OK for free, LOL). What happens is that as I don't really use too much the web app, and seeing that logging out and in solves the mistaken tasks, I didn't say anything till now. And what I'm now explaining is just to let know to the Staff that there's one more people with this bug.
In fact, it's really strange what happens, because with the Android app (and as I've read, the other mobile apps) there's no problem at all... But I'm sure it will be solved by the Todoist team. ;-)

D
derstrom  premium
Replied on Sep 22, 2014 - 08:38 UTC

Hi, I have a similar issue with using todoist on my HTC ONE S and through Chrome. I'm not using the chrome extension. My primary interface is the website. So, what happens is this: When I move, check off or change their priority tasks they first change their state until I change something else. Then the system does a refresh and the task will go back to it's previous state. At the same time, the phone app won't refresh even if I use the refresh option in the menu. This only changes if I log in and out on my phone. But then the refreshed state of, say, todays tasks will be different from the tasks on the web interface. I have now uninstalled the app from my phone to see if this changes anything. I suspect this is a syncing issue with the phone app.

This is quite annoying (I constantly have to keep an eye on what tasks I have already moved or reconsidered and whatnot) and up until now I was considering buying the premium version. I was trying to free some resources by using your app and now I have to look after the app and write you. I know you're trying to fix this so I'll give you some time to work on it. But please keep trying.

David Trey  staff
Replied on Sep 22, 2014 - 14:09 UTC

Hello,

We're very sorry for the inconvenience, we have identified the source of this issue and fixed it a little over 12 hours ago. It may be necessary to log out and back into your account or refresh the page/app (reinstall mobile apps) for the changes to take effect and we can no longer reproduce any sync issue right now.

If after refreshing the app or logging out and back in, the issue still persist and you can reliably reproduce it under certain circumstances, please let us know how can we trigger it.


Regards,
David