how do i set it up so that when I check the task it deletes completely?
When you check a task off, that is completing it. There is no way to change how this works. You could right click and choose Delete instead of checking it off, or later go into the complete list (project, at the bottom right, clock icon) and delete it from there.
that s really a missing functionnality. If you could add it . this would be great