+ Add Question

Outlook add in sends single email from draft folder when swithcing from draft folder to in-box

HT

I love Todoist.

Installed the add in to the latest version of outlook.

There is a disappointing conflict that sends the top e-mail in the draft box when you click from the draft box to the in-box within outlook. When I turned the outlook todoist add in off the conflict ceased and I could switch between boxes without draft e-mails being sent.

Only the top e-mail in the list is sent.

When I first discovered this was happening it resulted in my switching between boxes four of five times and each time I sent another unfinished e-mail to a random punter. Ouch.

Any ideas?

yrs,

Harry

All responses

David Trey staff
Replied on Jul 13, 2013 - 06:07

Hello Harry,

We're sorry for the inconvenience, we're looking into this issue now, but please try to uninstall the plugin (it's listed as OutlookTodoist in Programs and Features) and install this updated version and let us know if the issue persists: https://d2dq6e731uoz0t.cloudfront.net/02cd062715e057dfa9ee118565c79108/as/OutlookTodoist.Adx.exe


Best regards,
David

B
Brian  premium
Replied on Aug 14, 2013 - 11:47

Oh my god, I have been having this same issue! I have been pulling my hair out trying to figure out why it's been happening. Do you have any idea how catastrophic this bug could be for a user?

I have had to recall incomplete messages sent to my C-Suite, which made me look like an idiot, because of this bug!

B
Brian  premium
Replied on Aug 14, 2013 - 11:53

The version you posted in your reply above does not fix this issue.

Brendon Wadey staff
Replied on Aug 14, 2013 - 12:12

Hi Brian,

Please uninstall, clear the cache for IE, reboot. Then install this updated version.

https://d2dq6e731uoz0t.cloudfront.net/27d69392edce0cbd2d7128b9c74d070d/as/OutlookTodoist.Adx.exe

Thanks,
Brendon.

B
Brian  premium
Replied on Aug 14, 2013 - 13:16

This version did not fix the issue.

Brendon Wadey staff
Replied on Aug 14, 2013 - 18:37

Brian,

I am sorry about the troubles.

We are working on it but are having issues reproducing it, which we need to do in order to fix them.

Any other details you can provide, such as your Windows version, Outlook version. Do you have any certain settings turned on in IE, etc. Anything could help.

Please make sure that you did clear all cache and data with IE before installing that file above.

Thanks,
Brendon.

B
Brian  premium
Replied on Aug 14, 2013 - 21:36

I'm running 64-bit Windows 8, Office 2013 (32-bit), on Lenovo core i5 ThinkPad in an Enterprise environment. Outlook is connected to my company's MS Exchange server.

I'm running the basic version of IE for Windows 8 with no addons. I only have it installed because Microsoft won't let me uninstall it. I did clear the cache and data.

I run Chrome as my primary browser.

Hope that helps!

Brendon Wadey staff
Replied on Aug 14, 2013 - 23:14

Brian,

Thanks for the information.

I am very sorry for the troubles you are having and I wish I had better news for you. We are really having issues resolving these problems, but we are hopeful.

I will keep you updated.

Thanks,
Brendon.

B
Brian  premium
Replied on Aug 15, 2013 - 07:45

Hi Brendon,

The flow goes like this. I can repeat it perfectly every time, and indefinitely:

1) Create a new email
2) Add an address to the "To" field "CC" or BCC" field.
3) Hit "save," which saves it to the Drafts folder. Outlook will also auto-save messages after 3 minutes
4) Click to your Drafts folder
5) Click the message you just saved to give it focus. I have the "Reading Pane" turned on, so this also pops up the draft in the reading pane.
6) Click away from that message or switch to any other program. or basically take focus away from that draft message
7) The draft automatically gets sent.

Outlook will repeat this for all messages in your drafts folder indefinitely, working its way down the list until all of your sendable drafts are gone.

I haven't tested to see if it will still send drafts from your Drafts folder if you change focus within Outlook (say from Mail to Calendar) without clicking through the actual Drafts folder itself. I'll try to do that today.

Let me know if there's anything else I can do to help, and I would be happy to help test bug/break fixes.

Brian

David Trey staff
Replied on Aug 15, 2013 - 08:19

Hello Brian,

Thank you very much for these details, I have passed them to the developers, it'll help us fix this issue as soon as possible.


Best regards,
David

B
Brian  premium
Replied on Aug 15, 2013 - 09:29

Thanks, guys. The Outlook add-in is my favorite Todist feature. I live in Outlook every single day, and having my task list right next to my inbox is invaluable.

Again, let me know if there's anything I can do to help.

P
Paije premium
Replied on Aug 16, 2013 - 21:23

If its any assistance, I pretty much have the exact same system as Brian, and get exactly the same results

EL
Eric Levin
Replied on Aug 25, 2013 - 21:42

I am hitting the same bug. I have had to uninstall the plugin for outlook which is KILLING me (partial email sent to my CEO. Luckily he understood). A couple more days and I have to move off todoist and on to another solution.

B
Brian  premium
Replied on Aug 27, 2013 - 14:08

Any updates on fixing this bug?

Brendon Wadey staff
Replied on Aug 27, 2013 - 14:37

Hi Brian,

Unfortunately we do not have any updates as of now. We are working on it right now and hope to find a solution soon.

Thanks,
Brendon.

B
Brian  premium
Replied on Sep 03, 2013 - 08:55

Hi Guys,

I'm eagerly awaiting an update to the Microsoft Outlook add-on. I've had to uninstall it for now due to this bug.

Is there an easy way for me to monitor version updates for the Outlook plugin so I can re-install it when a new version is pushed?

Brian

Brendon Wadey staff
Replied on Sep 03, 2013 - 09:21

Brian,

You can always follow us on social media which we try to always post updates. Since our next update should be a fairly large update, fixing many bugs this will most likely be posted.

https://twitter.com/todoist
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Todoist/165864136843769
https://plus.google.com/+todoist/posts

And we always update threads like this one that were related to the issues, if they are fixed.

Thanks,
Brendon.

RW
Robert Woods premium
Replied on Sep 03, 2013 - 19:15

Guys this has to be fixed! Nearly sent out an incomplete, extremely important email. Luckily I only had internal people listed, if this had gone out could have cost us big time.
Uninstalling from Outlook (Where 99 percent of my use of it is!) until this is fixed.

RW
Robert Woods premium
Replied on Sep 03, 2013 - 19:37

To be helpful - Windows 7 Pro x64, Office 2013, IE is not used so should be all stock settings :)

SM
Sue McLeod
Replied on Sep 11, 2013 - 12:31

Any movement on this one? I too have had to uninstall the add-in from outlook because of a series of draft emails being sent. At least now I know the culprit.

Excellent app apart from this. Looking forward to re-instating it in outlook.

David Trey staff
Replied on Sep 11, 2013 - 12:53

Hello Sue,

We're very sorry for the delays, we're working on a rewrite of our plugin which will be much more stable and bug-free.


Best regards,
David

RW
Robert Woods premium
Replied on Sep 11, 2013 - 18:01

Any ETA? :)

Brendon Wadey staff
Replied on Sep 11, 2013 - 18:17

Robert,

Unfortunately, we do not have an ETA at this time. We are working very hard right now, and have a fair amount of things that need to be fixed. It should be soon.

Thanks,
Brendon.

SM
Sue McLeod
Replied on Sep 12, 2013 - 01:15

These things happen and most folk usually understand that. However, a warning at download or installation would have been good. Did I miss something?

Brendon Wadey staff
Replied on Sep 12, 2013 - 11:21

Hi Sue,

We apologize, this is a new issue and plan to fix it soon.

Thanks,
Brendon.

AM
Aaron Melton
Replied on Sep 12, 2013 - 15:21

Just determined I had this same issue after multiple draft e-mails were sent to several people. This was not good considering the nature of the e-mails to some of our customers. I use this service daily and paid for premium. Your software addon lags horribly which is livable, but now this issue is certainly not. This sent some e-mails that should not have gone, and I cannot state how upsetting this is and serious of a bug.

I will never use your service again, and will advise others not to as well.

Thank you.

B
Brian  premium
Replied on Sep 12, 2013 - 15:24

Agreed it's a serious bug.

Let's give them a chance to fix it before completely writing off the app...

However, assuming this thread brought the bug to their attention, it has now been 60 days with no fix or resolution....

David Trey staff
Replied on Sep 12, 2013 - 16:09

Hello,

We're very sorry for the inconvenience, this is of course a very serious issue which we're working on right now and we must rewrite the plugin to fix it along with some other issues, we've hired another .NET developer to address it as soon as possible and finish the new version of the plugin.


Best regards,
David

VC
Vincent Canonico premium
Replied on Sep 24, 2013 - 02:48

Hi,

Have you fixed this bug yet? I just experienced the automatic release of several draft e-mails to clients. I have been going crazy trying to determine the reason. This is really embarrassing.

v

David Trey staff
Replied on Sep 24, 2013 - 06:45

Vincent,

We're very sorry for the inconvenience, we're still working on the new version of our plugin which will address this and other issues.


Best regards,
David

B
Brian  premium
Replied on Sep 30, 2013 - 15:27

It's been 3 months since this bug was reported. Do you have an ETA for the fix?

My use of Todoist has dropped to basically nothing since I had to uninstall the Outlook plug in. If I can't use the Outlook plugin, the value proposition for the Todoist platform isn't there for me and I need to invest in another system that works.

How do I get a refund on my premium account?

David Trey staff
Replied on Sep 30, 2013 - 17:18

Brian,

We're very sorry for the delays. Unfortunately, we can't give you any exact ETA, we're working on a rewrite of this plugin it may take some weeks to have the final version, though.

We can of course refund your payment in this situation and for that we'll need the order reference ID or payment ID. You can send it to david@todoist.com and brendon@doist.io


Best regards,
David

B
Brian  premium
Replied on Oct 03, 2013 - 08:03

Temporary Work Around:

Here's a temp. work around to let you still access Todoist from within Outlook. It is NOT a direct replacement for the add-in, and does not keep a persistent view, but I feel it's still better than nothing:

1) Create a new folder under your Outlook inbox. I called mine "Todoist"

2) Right click on that new folder and choose "Properties"

3) Click the "Home Page" tab of the properties dialog box.

4) Check the box that says "Show home page by default for this folder."

5) Type the Todoist web address into the "address" box: http://todoist.com

6) Click OK to close out properties.

Now when you visit that folder in Outlook, it will automatically open the Todoist web interface within Outlook. You may have to click through some security messages, but otherwise, it works.

BC
Benjamin Chafetz
Replied on Oct 03, 2013 - 12:39

Unfortunately i had to uninstall Outlook Todoist because of the havoc it was wreaking with drafts and my outbox.

@David- Very creative solution but it was great when Todoist showed in the sidebar.

@todoist developers - When you overhaul the app can you have it appear under the calendar. Having to choose between Todoist or my calendar was hard. http://screencast.com/t/rWoLt2TDG9tW

David Trey staff
Replied on Oct 03, 2013 - 14:39

Benjamin,

We're sorry for the inconvenience, we'll also look into the calendar issue once we have the new version finished.


Best regards,
David

MA
Megan Aghazadian premium
Replied on Oct 07, 2013 - 13:52

I also had this issue and had to uninstall the plug-in because of the same embarrassing accidental sends that other users cited. I am a huge fan of todoist and I'm very eager to get back to the add-in-- that's what differentiates todoist from other similar applications for me. But if the update doesn't come soon, I'll need to find another solution, so please update ASAP!

Thanks-
Megan

M
Miryam
Replied on Oct 15, 2013 - 06:14

I also have this issue, and will have to uninstall. Is there a way to be automatically notified if you fix this issue?

Miryam

David Trey staff
Replied on Oct 15, 2013 - 08:24

Miryam,

Once the new version of our plugin is finally released, I will notify you here which will send you an email notification.


Best regards,
David

RG
Rolando G premium
Replied on Oct 16, 2013 - 14:29

I also have been having this issue for a while now and had to basically not use my Drafts folder any more. I now uninstalled the Outlook plugin. I hope this will be fixed soon.

Charles Marks premium
Replied on Oct 23, 2013 - 06:45

Wow, cannot believe that there are not warnings about this! It could be devastating for some businesses! I bet there are lots of users who have no idea this is even happening to them.

Does it not warrant an email to all users telling them?

I would guess a temporary "safety net" would be to remove the to address when you put something as a draft (so if reply to a message but only get half way through then remove the to address until you are ready to send.

I would have thought that 2 months is enough time to fix something like this though.

BC
Benjamin Chafetz
Replied on Oct 23, 2013 - 11:29

Hi, Can i get a refund.

Brendon Wadey staff
Replied on Oct 23, 2013 - 12:12

Hi Benjamin,

Yes, we are sorry for the issues and we will offer the refund. Please send your transaction ID or reference number to brendon@doist.io.

Thanks,
Brendon.

Brendon Wadey staff
Replied on Oct 23, 2013 - 13:47

Benjamin,

You have now been refunded. Sorry for the trouble.

Thanks,
Brendon.

Harald Hansen premium
Replied on Oct 31, 2013 - 11:07

This is a disaster!!!

Like many others I keep e-mails in my draft folder that need some processing. I've been using the plugin for one day and have been bitten by both the task help bug and now also this!

You need to remove the plugin or write a warning with big red letters on the download page!

I choose todoist over your competitors because of the plugin. Now I have to uninstall and consider this again.

Harald

M
Miryam
Replied on Oct 31, 2013 - 11:58

I agree - frankly, I think that Todoist should remove the plugin entirely until this is fixed. I do not think that anyone would choose to install it with this disastrous bug.

Miryam

Charles Marks premium
Replied on Oct 31, 2013 - 13:00

Uhm, reported in July, August passes, so does September and now October - over 3 whole months and NOTHING done about this.

Time to get the fix out NOW. No more "we are working on it" "we are re-building it" etc.

Why are you not taking this seriously at TD?

This is a PR disaster waiting to happen (well, actually it is happening).

Brendon Wadey staff
Replied on Oct 31, 2013 - 13:36

We are sorry for the delays and we are taking the issue seriously. That is why we have hired a new developer and have started the complete rewrite of the plugin. The old version was having too many issues and would have taken longer to resolve all the problems.

We do understand how serious of an issue this is and we hope to have the rewrite done as soon as possible.

Regards,
Brendon.

Charles Marks premium
Replied on Oct 31, 2013 - 14:19

Brendon - I am sorry but this is not an answer. You have been saying the same thing for 3 months.

Get SOMEONE to do the following...

1. Hack the current plugin as a temporary measure.
2. Put a big warning on the plugin download page
3. Email your customer base to warn them
4. Agree a date by which time you will have this fixed "as soon as possible" is just not good enough.

There are hundreds of tools that offer the features you have and yours is one of the better ones, but there really is NO EXCUSE for this issue running as long as it has.

David Trey staff
Replied on Nov 01, 2013 - 07:21

Hello Charles,

We're very sorry for the inconvenience, we do everything we can to fix this ASAP. We've hired an additional programmer working on it now and within a week, this issue will be addressed.


Best regards,
David

A
Ashley
Replied on Nov 05, 2013 - 09:04

How come users were not notified of the bug?
Why wouldn't Todoist be transparent?
Or did I miss some big announcement?

If I didn't, I whole heartedly suggest making an announcement and being honest.

Honesty is a quick filter on people you want as a client base and people you don't. Importantly, it's also a quick filter for users to determine the kinds of digital platforms they want to incorporate into their personal and professional lives..... Omission is dubious, and most def does not feel "honest" in the least. Say something. Be upfront. Let people know. Be simple. And provide links to other sources of info that they can navigate through to relevant content and aide in their understanding.

I love the program, paid for it, use it. I would have done the same despite the bug, BUT I would have been INFORMED about the risks. And that should have been my decision.

This random "draft send" makes users look incompetent. Yet. The very reason users leverage Todoist is to become MORE competent. There's a real disconnect there. And it really doesn't have to be!!!

Reputations of Todoist users -- who predominantly use the tool in professional environments -- are on the line..... The reputation of Todoist would actually remain fine if you made a clear statement about this bug... By clear statement I mean: simple, concise, and front-center for all your users and traffic.

It's not a "little thing" -- it's incredibly compromising.
PUT OUT SOME INFORMATION about it. I'll write that FOR YOU if you want me to. Make the "LINK TO THE FIX" -- or information about the pending fix --- readily available. I had to weed through Google to find out why email drafts were being sent. You have tons of space on your support board page. Get on in there and make information relevant to the THOUSANDS of users you already have. Please. For your own sake!!!!

ps. Glad you hired an extra programmer. Do you have anyone in Marketing over there? Client Relationships are a vital connection between Product and Bottom Line.

B
Brian  premium
Replied on Nov 05, 2013 - 09:29

I think this might be finally fixed?

I saw an update get pushed to the Windows desktop app today so I tried installing the Outlook add-in again. I repeated the flow I documented above and I couldn't reproduce the issue. I also rebooted and restarted Outlook several times:

I'm running Outlook 2013 on Windows 8 in an MS Exchange 2010 environment. Could someone else validate that it's fixed?

1) Create a new email
2) Add an address to the "To" field "CC" or BCC" field.
3) Hit "save," which saves it to the Drafts folder. Outlook will also auto-save messages after 3 minutes
4) Click to your Drafts folder
5) Click the message you just saved to give it focus. I have the "Reading Pane" turned on, so this also pops up the draft in the reading pane.
6) Click away from that message or switch to any other program. or basically take focus away from that draft message
7) The draft automatically gets sent.

David Trey staff
Replied on Nov 05, 2013 - 09:42

Hello Ashey,

We're very sorry for the inconvenience and we're rolling out an update as we speak, you can get it right now from this location: https://d2dq6e731uoz0t.cloudfront.net/cd2fb847eb3397185b45a892c8d94dc5/as/OutlookTodoist.Adx.exe

This issue did not occur in all versions of our plugin so many customers were using a different version, but of course this shouldn't have happened in the first place and we're very sorry it took so long to fix it.


Best regards,
David

A
Ashley
Replied on Nov 06, 2013 - 09:24

Thanks David.

I appreciate the response. The thing I am concerned with now is that all my To Dos are no longer associated with the Outlook emails I had linked for reference.

Why is that? What happened to that intel? Is there a way for me to get it back? I have so many to dos associated with emails...... this was one of my main points of leveraging the Todoist plug in.
Any help would be greatly greatly appreciated!
-Thank you

Brendon Wadey staff
Replied on Nov 06, 2013 - 10:06

Hi Ashley,

We are looking into the email issue now and hope to find a fix soon.

Thanks,
Peter.

A
Ashley
Replied on Nov 07, 2013 - 08:44

Just in case -- no part of the "to do" item opens if it is associated with an email in outlook. It is like a "dead link" -- clicking on it reveals no activity or response. :(

Brendon Wadey staff
Replied on Nov 07, 2013 - 11:41

Ashley,

That would be because tasks created with Outlook or even Gmail need to be opened in the same place. It's a limitation that we would love to change but currently can not.

Thanks,
Brendon.

A
Ashley
Replied on Nov 07, 2013 - 11:43

Except. I am in Outlook. I am not outside of the native platform where I integrated Todoist.

Brendon Wadey staff
Replied on Nov 07, 2013 - 11:46

Ashley,

Yes, sorry about the confusion. If you install an older version of our plugin those links should work again. We are working on another update though that should help.

Thanks,
Brendon.

A
Ashley
Replied on Nov 07, 2013 - 11:48

An older plug in? The one that repeatedly sends draft emails?

If you are recommending a specific one, can you provide the link and assurance that it will not repeatedly send draft emails?

Brendon Wadey staff
Replied on Nov 07, 2013 - 11:52

Ashley,

I was not recommending installing an older one but saying those links will work if you did, making the point that your emails should be fixed once we push out a new update, that they are not lost forever.

Regards,
Brandon.

JB
Jim B.
Replied on Nov 21, 2013 - 19:11

I have been having this issue in Outlook and just discovered it was due to Todoist. I would really appreciate a fix. Up to this point, there are two versions that are relevant to me:

1. older, unreleased version: links to emails work, but sends out of drafts automatically
https://d2dq6e731uoz0t.cloudfront.net/27d69392edce0cbd2d7128b9c74d070d/as/OutlookTodoist.Adx.exe

2. newer, released version: links to emails don't work, but doesn't send out drafts automatically

I'm running Outlook 2013 / Exchange / Win7-64.

One suggestion: would it be possible to consolidate the known issues with the Outlook Plugin in a single thread, so that we don't have to search around so much when odd behavior occurs? Thanks.

Brendon Wadey staff
Replied on Nov 21, 2013 - 19:15

Jim,

We are still working on a fix that will resolve these issues and a few others. We hope to have this released soon. When it does, this thread and all other threads, and social media will be notified about the update.

Regards,
Brendon.

Charles Marks premium
Replied on Nov 22, 2013 - 04:09

Reading the above, does this mean that the new (current) plugin does not send out draft emails but any links to emails within tasks (old AND new) will not work at all?

David Trey staff
Replied on Nov 22, 2013 - 06:35

Hello Charles,

It depends. Yes, the new version does not sent out drafts anymore, but links to emails added through the old version may not work, especially if you're using an Exchange server as the old version contained a workaround to handle such links, but also to remember the ID of a message after it's been moved to a different folder.

That said, if you keep the messages in the same folder and don't use Exchange, it will work correctly. We're still working on another version that will permanently address everything and it shouldn't take too long before the release at this point. Sorry for the inconvenience.


Best regards,
David

Charles Marks premium
Replied on Nov 22, 2013 - 07:04

I do use exchange.

To be 100% clear (yes/no answers to following will be most helpful for all). By new and old below I am refering to tasks created before the update to the new plugin and after.

IN THE NEW OUTLOOK PLUGIN

1. Will it remember OLD email links if the email IS NOT moved ?

2. Will it remember OLD email links if the email IS moved?

3. Will it remember NEW email links if the email IS NOT moved ?

4. Will it remember NEW email links if the email IS moved?

David Trey staff
Replied on Nov 22, 2013 - 07:22

Charles,

To answer your questions:

1. This is the only situation that's unclear. I believe it should remember them if you weren't using Exchange in the past, but if you were then it most likely won't as the fix in the old version was primarily done to make these links work when using Exchange so this new version will most likely not understand the type of ID the old version used.

2. No

3. Yes

4. No

This is of course a temporary issue, we've had to release an already very overdue update for this critical issue reg. sending drafts, but it was based on the last version we knew that didn't had this issue. Unfortunately, it also didn't have the Exchange fix. We're working on another update which will finally address both problems.


Best regards,
David

Charles Marks premium
Replied on Nov 22, 2013 - 07:34

I hope that, in the new version, for Exchange users the answer to 4 changes to Yes.

A normal "workflow" would be...

a. Read inbox mail
b. Decide on action required
c. Create task in TD based on email/action (with link to email)
d. File email in project folder

Whilst swapping c and d around would solve the issue, this would not work as a workflow as you then have to swap folders you are in and then swap back to read inbox email - its not time efficient. Also, outlook filing can be speeded up dramatically using rules and quick links that never require even going to a particular folder to file a message.

J
James
Replied on Dec 05, 2013 - 19:58

I am having the same problem with unfinished emails being sent from my Drafts folder. Very embarrassing as I have had emails go to a number of customers around the world.
I am using Windows 7 Pro x64, Office 2013 (not on Exchange Server).
I had no idea this was a bug with ToDoist, so had been scouring my Outlook settings to see what I had wrong. I actually thought it was a Microsoft bug.
The problem for me, as with others, is that if I revert to a version that doesn't have this problem, then I have the problem with accessing email saved as task after the emails are filed.
Add this to the lack of a start date on tasks, and I have run out of patience with ToDoist, so am uninstalling now and will be requesting a refund. Actually, I am very disappointed that you are continuing to advertise your product and its great features when it has a bug of this magnitude that can seriously embarrass customers! Particularly since this bug has been known for at least five months.

Brendon Wadey staff
Replied on Dec 05, 2013 - 20:00

Hi,

The major update that is planned to fix all issues, is almost done, we do not have an exact ETA but it should be very soon.

Regards,
Brendon.

lorne.bourdo premium
Replied on Dec 17, 2013 - 11:49

Any update on this? I had my outlook freezing and not responding for 10-15 mins at a time and also outbox emails wouldn't send. So then I updated my Outlook app and saw this thread. I really can't afford for drafts to be sent out before they're ready so I'm strictly using windows app outside outlook until I hear otherwise from you.

Thanks,
Lorne

David Trey staff
Replied on Dec 17, 2013 - 12:33

Hello Lorne,

The issue with drafts being sent out has been fixed in the updated version already available at https://todoist.com/outlook

We're now finishing another update which will also port the plugin to a different engine and finally address all issues the previous versions had.


Best regards,
David

lorne.bourdo premium
Replied on Dec 17, 2013 - 12:35

Thanks for the quick response David. Can you please notify us when this is available here in this thread? I will stay with the desktop program until this one is released.

Thanks,
Lorne

David Trey staff
Replied on Dec 17, 2013 - 12:42

Lorne,

I will, but we will also most likely post about it on our social media channels (Facebook, Google+, Twitter) and maybe also on our blog or send a newsletter.


Best regards,
David

Charles Marks premium
Replied on Jan 09, 2014 - 08:20

Another month and still no update issued. On 5th December we were told it was "soon".

FYI: Definition of Soon: "adverb: in or after a short time:"

There is nothing "soon" about this update. What is the alleged coder you employed mid September to do this actually doing and when is he planning to be finished?

NB: The word SOON is no longer acceptable as you do not know how to use it correctly. It is erroneously used 12 times in this thread alone.

David Trey staff
Replied on Jan 09, 2014 - 08:34

Hello Charles,

We're very sorry for the delays. Our current programmer (hired late November 2013) has finished an update for our Windows app in December 2013, already created the first build of the ported version of the new Outlook plugin and is finishing up the fixes for some remaining issues.

We're very upset about this as well and how many times our former developers still couldn't deliver a completely fixed version of our plugin and therefore want to make sure this one will be truly fixed for good.


Best regards,
David

Charles Marks premium
Replied on Jan 09, 2014 - 09:19

Ok, so well done for not using the "S" word.

How about talking to the dev and asking him how many more days, weeks or months he needs to get this ready to launch?

We all want to have a timeline on this and have been asking for one for months.

Each time I don't get one I go off and look at the other similar services and each time I come a little closer to jumping ship (perhaps that's what you are waiting for??).

Charles Marks premium
Replied on Jan 09, 2014 - 09:19

Ok, so well done for not using the "S" word.

How about talking to the dev and asking him how many more days, weeks or months he needs to get this ready to launch?

We all want to have a timeline on this and have been asking for one for months.

Each time I don't get one I go off and look at the other similar services and each time I come a little closer to jumping ship (perhaps that's what you are waiting for??).

David Trey staff
Replied on Jan 09, 2014 - 10:29

Charles,

The main reason why we refuse to provide a specific release date is because of our past issues with this when the final version was not provided on time and we do not want to lie to you giving you an incorrect date.

The most accurate current estimate is "by the end of the month, in worst case". Again, I'm sorry I can't give you a fixed date.


Best regards,
David

Eric Braitmayer premium
Replied on Jan 19, 2014 - 08:44

Hi - I'm a new user as of yesterday and my problem relates to emails that won't send out of my Outlook 2010 outbox. I have my email set on send only when I press send/receive. If I "send" multiple emails to my outbox, when I actually trigger the true sending, one always stays in the outbox. when I removed the plug-in, it started working right again.

Is this issue part of the planned release update?

thank you,

Eric

Charles Marks premium
Replied on Jan 19, 2014 - 08:51

Eric, I think your problem is more related to the issue described on here http://www.slipstick.com/problems/after-viewing-outlooks-outbox-the-messages-in-it-wont-send/. It is caused by TD and will hopefully be fixed with the new update but we have (as you can see) been asking for this fix for well over 6 months.

Eric Braitmayer premium
Replied on Jan 19, 2014 - 09:12

Thanks, Charles. I appreciate the link.

It would be great to get it fixed as the sidebar is really useful and a big part of why I purchased the product.

David Trey staff
Replied on Feb 13, 2014 - 10:49

Hello,

Please try to install this new updated version of our Outlook plugin and let us know if the issue persists: https://d2dq6e731uoz0t.cloudfront.net/6cbfe87a597f69aefd816f9cdac2957a/as/OutlookTodoist.Adx.exe


Best regards,
David

Charles Marks premium
Replied on Feb 17, 2014 - 05:53

Can someone confirm what issues this new version of outlook plugin actually fixes as there are many in discussion on various threads?

Eric Braitmayer premium
Replied on Feb 17, 2014 - 08:26

David - Yes, this latest release seems to have addressed the problem I was having where Outlook would not send mail if you went to the Outbox folder before sending.

Thank you! I'll let you know if I have any other constructive feedback after I've used the plug-in a bit more. I appreciate your attention to my concern with your product.

Best, Eric

David Trey staff
Replied on Feb 17, 2014 - 08:32

Hello Charles,

The latest version of our plugin addresses all reported issues. If you're still experiencing any of them, please let us know which one.


Best regards,
David