+ Add Question

How to move a task that was mistakenly checked off as completed

MC

I would like to move a task that was mistakenly checked off as completed back to my current list.

All responses

RM
Randolph Miller premium
Replied on Jan 18, 2013 - 03:30

Have you tried showing the completed task and then clicking the check box? This *should* 'uncomplete' the task and move back to the current list.

MC
Michelle Confer
Replied on Jan 18, 2013 - 13:14

Once a task has been completed there is no longer a "checkbox". I would certainly have done that if there was. I can find no way to "uncomplete" a task!

David Trey staff
Replied on Jan 18, 2013 - 13:18

Hello Michelle,

There should be a checked box in the "Get completed task" list within the project in which you've completed the task unless you're referring to a sub-task, in which case, please un-check the parent task first.

If it is a parent task and there is no checkbox next to it, please send a screenshot of this issue to david@todoist.com

Also, you could try to use the q: query to search for a work within this task and see if it shows with a checkbox on the search results page.


Best regards,
David

MC
Michelle Confer
Replied on Jan 18, 2013 - 14:26

Thank you very much for this answer. I never saw the "Get completed task" link. I thought the only way to see your completed tasks was through the link to the right of the "Show projects" link at the top.

JB
John Brandy premium
Replied on Feb 27, 2014 - 11:29

I don't see any Get Completed Tasks link anywhere.

JB
John Brandy premium
Replied on Feb 27, 2014 - 12:02

OK, I found it under Karma, but it's called "View All Completed". I had to uncomplete by going into the notes on that task, where I could then see a checked checkbox and uncheck it.

I don't yet know what would happen if there weren't any notes like with most tasks - if I have to go into notes to see a checkbox that implies that there must be at least one note.

After unchecking, I then saw it in the main last as a task from 13 days ago, and I could update it to today and make it recurring, BUT...

At that point it showed me the 15 previous notes, and after I added one, it deleted the previous 15 and now only shows the one from today. I might as well have left it completed and created a new one - at least that way I'd have the old data which now appears to be completely gone.

David Trey staff
Replied on Feb 27, 2014 - 12:27

Hello,

There are two ways of seeing completed tasks:

1. By entering a project and clicking on the circular icon at the bottom - this is where fully completed tasks are stored, that is not recurring and still active tasks, but those that aren't on the active list anymore. This is also where you can un-complete any task by un-checking its box.

2. By clicking on the Karma score or the "X Completed" link if you're not using Karma and go to "View All Completed". This is a Premium feature and it shows a completion log - these tasks aren't supposed to be uncompleted from there as these are just completion events of tasks incl. recurring tasks.

@John - thank you for your report, This is actually a bug. You shouldn't have the option to uncheck a completed task through its notes like this, we'll address this issue now.

As for the lost notes - please go to Settings -> Backups and see if you can find it in one of the older backup files.


Best regards,
David

JB
John Brandy premium
Replied on Feb 27, 2014 - 13:48

Tried that. There is no circular icon at the bottom of any project. I did find that there is a circular icon on each task line which does that - I had no previous idea that was the case, but your help does address that.

Still solution #1 above doesn't work because entering a project does not show anything but uncompleted items and those don't have circular icons. It's only when I go into Karma, click View All Projects, then use the dropdown boxes to the right of the Visualize link to filter projects that I then see the circular icon which allows uncompletion.

Last, having to go to a backup file just to get the notes is a bug. If I uncomplete a task, it should uncomplete the notes, too and anything else related to that task.

David Trey staff
Replied on Feb 27, 2014 - 16:29

John,

Please log out, clear your browser's cache, log back in and you will see the circular icon. To clarify, it is at the bottom of the task list in any project. That is - you enter the project, see your tasks on the right side and in the bottom-right corner is the icon which says "Show completed tasks" when you hover over it.

Reg. backups - yes, the lost notes are caused by a bug which we'll fix, but for now in this situation, the only way to retrieve them is through the backups.


Best regards,
David