+ Add Question

undelete tasks

D

Hello,
I accidentally deleted some important tasks several hours ago, so, how I can undelete it?
also, does Todoist have history of changing, so I could restore some other data?
thank you.

All responses

David Trey  staff
Replied on Nov 22, 2012 - 06:38 UTC

Hello Dmitry,

The only way to retrieve deleted tasks is by using the Backups feature. With Todoist Premium, one backup is generated for you per day, but you can create additional ones manually whenever you want. You can restore the data using the "Import from template" feature.

All details about how it works are shown in this video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U96Nco_but4


Best regards,
David

OS
Oriel Shaked
Replied on Jun 20, 2014 - 21:10 UTC

Wow, no "undo," "undelete" or "trash bin" feature? What a terrible thing to leave out. I just deleted a task on accident and now I'm scratching my head as to what I deleted!

SL
Susan Lackey  premium
Replied on Jul 10, 2014 - 20:02 UTC

I agree, I don't know what I just hit, but I accidentally deleted about 8 projects. Would be so much better if they went into a "trash bin" for a period of time so you can restore them if needed.

SL
Susan Lackey  premium
Replied on Jul 10, 2014 - 20:13 UTC

Oh goodness, thankfully I am a premium member and was able to recover.

FR
Fancy Ruff-Wagner  premium
Replied on Oct 22, 2014 - 05:47 UTC

How did you recover? I'm a premium member. The video shows Preferences but I don't have that on my menu.

David Trey  staff
Replied on Oct 22, 2014 - 12:15 UTC

Hello,

Please look at the top of the window and you'll see a gear (cog) icon. Click on it, go to "Todoist Settings" and then "Backups" :-)


Regards,
David

belinda  premium
Replied on Nov 11, 2014 - 04:57 UTC

Hi, there is definitely no warning for deleting files as it says there are above. I just lost key data that I added straight to todoist during a client analysis for a highly complex project. Why is there no undo button, why is there no trash bin so you can recover, why is there no restore?? I can see that for 2 years people have been asking this over and over and over, and it is a key function of anything that stores key data.
I love todoist but this is a total rookie error.
When will this function be enabled? People using todoist and losing such key data is a disaster. One backup per day is not good enough either as data is uploaded and potentially removed by accident all in the same process or just hours apart. This is an absolute fail on product development. When at least an undo button be created?

Ashok Soni
Replied on Nov 11, 2014 - 05:30 UTC

Yes, an undo is something very crucial feature to have. Please do tell if it's included in YOUR todo list?

Clyde Romo  staff
Replied on Nov 11, 2014 - 07:22 UTC

Hi Belinda,

If you delete a task, you will actually get a prompt to undo it. I'll pass your suggestions to our team so we can improve it.


Regards,
Clyde

John French
Replied on Dec 15, 2014 - 00:33 UTC

I was nearly sold on Todoist when I accidentally deleted a task with a phone number in the notes. No Undo key - greyed out! Unbelievable!

Not in backup, because they only happen once a day.

I have never, ever come across a Mac app that did this.

Bye Todoist.

DialectCoaches Admin  premium
Replied on Dec 30, 2014 - 14:45 UTC

Please, ToDoist, Do something about this deletion issue!!

OS
Oriel Shaked
Replied on Dec 30, 2014 - 18:07 UTC

Lol its been over two years since this was brought up to the ToDoIst team. I don't think this is the focus of their dev team.

L
Laura
Replied on Jan 12, 2015 - 22:05 UTC

I've been using the free version of ToDoist for a year now. I like it's simple design and that it's easy to use. I too have deleted tasks by accident and have never been able to recover them. I've considered paying for the "Premium" version but after reading all the feedback about the same complaint, I don't think I will. I agree with the others, an "Undo / Recycle Bin" is a necessity!

DialectCoaches Admin  premium
Replied on Jan 13, 2015 - 02:20 UTC

Laura -- After looking around, I found the 'undo' area! To the far right of the 'add task' button, you'll see a clock symbol with a counter-clockwise arrow. It says 'show completed tasks' -- hit that, and a list of tasks accomplished appears. You can actually uncheck any of them and they will re-appear as to-do's!

L
Laura
Replied on Jan 14, 2015 - 02:31 UTC

DialectCoaches ~ Thank you for sharing your discovery! I looked to the right of the "add task +" button but for me, there is no clock-symbol that allows me to show completed tasks. I see that you are a premium member, so I am guessing that this is a Premium feature. Now that I know it's there, I may make that leap to pay for this service. Thanks again : )

JM
Josh Morton  premium
Replied on Feb 11, 2015 - 03:11 UTC

You need to Add a trash can or undelete - and a warning - are you sure you want to delete this task - you can undo it.

I was just about to sign up for the business account but I can't run my business if the only way to recover something is from a day old backup.

DialectCoaches Admin  premium
Replied on Feb 11, 2015 - 06:28 UTC

Josh, I've got a biz acct, and with this kind of account (not sure if you have access to this feature at the basic level) at the bottom of the to do list across from the add task button is a circle with an arrow (reminds one of a clock moving counter-clockwise). Tap that button and you'll see what you tossed away accidentally. You can uncheck it and your to do will reappear on the list.

JM
Josh Morton  premium
Replied on Feb 11, 2015 - 06:48 UTC

No that is for tasks that have been completed. If you actually delete a task there is no warning. There is an undo window at the bottom of the screen but if you don't see it or close your browser or app there is no way to get the task back. No trash can - no deleted task folder.

Terry Pierce  premium
Replied on Mar 24, 2015 - 15:07 UTC

Wow, I'm a new user of Todoist and just upgraded to Premium last week. I had no idea there was no undo/undelete/trash functionality that's such a standard feature in this type of software.  Today, after entering dozens of tasks over the last several hours, I accidentally deleted a project with roughly six sub-projects that existed before I started my work today (all with many tasks entered within each).

Now I'm in a predicament.  If I go to the backup feature, I will lose the last several hours of work that I just completed.  However, I would be able to get the lost projects back that existed before today.  Either way, I just lost hours of work that could have been prevented with a simple "undelete" or "undo".  -_-; 

The backup option is certainly better than nothing, but it obviously doesn't cover common situations like this where work is completed AFTER the backup was completed which is why an undelete or undo is a critical option needed in this software. 

Ashok Soni
Replied on Mar 24, 2015 - 16:17 UTC

And the unfortunate thing is dev(s) of this app in denial to add such feature in this app even after so many posts.

Ralph Otto  premium
Replied on Mar 24, 2015 - 16:29 UTC

Agreed - at least an "undo" or "undelete" for recent activities (accidentally selecting the wrong task for completion, etc.). I understand the backup or karma features are a workaround but they are not the most user friendly alternative.