+ Add Question

How can I recover a delete project?


I have deleted a project that I need to get back. Using your interface, I first deleted one project that I no longer needed. Then I deleted a second. It looks like the second deletion actually deleted a project that I needed to keep.

All responses

Replied on Jan 17, 2012 - 04:21 UTC

I have the same problem. A deleted a project, and it deleted all its sub-projects that I still need! Can I recover these?

David Trey  staff
Replied on Jan 17, 2012 - 05:52 UTC

Hello Kurt and András,

unfortunately, it's not possible to retrieve a deleted projects. I'm very sorry for the inconvenience.

If the project(s) and sub-project(s) were deleted instantly, you might have experienced a bug. Usually, when you try to delete a project, a message should appear saying:

Are you sure you want to delete 'PROJECT_NAME'?
Child project(s) 'SUB-PROJECT_1', 'SUB-PROJECT_2' will be deleted as well.

and await confirmation for deleting all mentioned projects.

If this message didn't appear, in order to identify and fix this bug, it would be very helpful if you would answer the following questions:
- Which browser are you using?
- From which view have you deleted the project (project view, search result...)?
- Did you reorder your projects right before you've deleted one of them?

Best regards,

Replied on Jan 17, 2012 - 06:37 UTC


I did not get any confirmation message that sub projects would be deleted if I delete the project (as long as I remember...).
Yes I reordered and renamed projects before deleting.
I was in project view and I am using Chrome browser.

David Trey  staff
Replied on Jan 20, 2012 - 17:11 UTC


unfortunately, I can't reproduce this issue.

I'm sorry for the inconvenience. As soon as we manage to identify what's causing it, we will fix it ASAP. For now, it would be very helpful if, in case you experience it again, you would inform us about the structure of your projects which lead to not displaying the full warning message.

Again, sorry for the inconvenience.

Best regards,

Replied on Jan 21, 2012 - 06:44 UTC

David, thanks for your answer.

Best regards,

Chris Donavan
Replied on Apr 13, 2015 - 20:55 UTC

I am switching to a different project management app.... I moved a sub category and somehow when I deleted it... the app deleted ALL MY OTHER SUBS that weren't even under that sub. project along with the tasks in those subs!!!! I don't have time for that major error!

Galina Skovorodnikova  staff
Replied on Apr 13, 2015 - 20:59 UTC

Hi Chris,

Sorry to hear about that. When you delete a project, you should get a confirmation pop up message.

Please check your archived projects in the end for the project list in case if you accidentally moved your sub-project to there.