+ Add Suggestion

Don't use Escape to cancel synchronization

K

I use Escape frequently to cancel the "Add task" box that appears again after you've already added a task. But since the new HTML5 Todoist, Escape also cancels syncing process and switches you to the offline mode. That is maddening.

Why is Escape used to do two different things at the same time - one very common and one extremely uncommon? It's driving me nuts.

All responses

David Trey staff
Replied on Sep 04, 2012 - 01:37

Hello Kamil,

we can't reproduce this issue. The ESC key does indeed seem to stop the animation of the icon shown while data is being synchronized, but it doesn't switch to offline mode when we were testing it.

Please tell me:
- Which browser are you using (and what version)?
- Can you reproduce this issue in at least one difference browser (if so - which one)?


Best regards,
David

K
Kamil
Replied on Sep 04, 2012 - 01:48

Hello,

I'm using Firefox 15 on two different computers, I have seen it in both.

But you are right that usually it just stops the animation. I assumed it stopped the syncing process as well. It's good to know it doesn't.

Very rarely I see an orange warning icon appear "Offline mode is on". But I can quite easily reproduce it if I hit Esc several times, as fast as I can, after performing an action. Then usually the warning icon appears. But as I say, sometimes it appears after a single key press only. It's probably about timing.

I just learned that the syncing process is automatically repeated after a few seconds. That's great. I always assumed I have to move the mouse over the warning icon a click on it to force online mode again (I never waited so long that it re-syncs again).

So technically - there's almost no problem. But from user experience view it's inconvenient, because unless you know the technical details (i.e. stopped animation icon doesn't stop syncing process, offline mode is automatically switched to online mode very soon), you might have the same bad feelings as I had.

Thanks for looking into it.

David Trey staff
Replied on Sep 04, 2012 - 05:32

Kamil,

I've been able to reproduce this issue now. Indeed, the offline icon appears if you click Esc multiple times in a short time.

I have passed this issue to the developers to make sure it doesn't cause any issues. For now, please try to use Esc only once to close the input field.


Best regards,
David