+ Add Question

Todist for Business

JW

I am on a free trial of Todoist for business. i am the administrator and i have added 6 additional users. i am confused about how much this will cost if i continue. i thought i only had to pay for myself to be the admin and that everyone else would be able to use Todist free version. but the accoutn information screen is showing that i would be charged for each user in my sharing group? can you help explain my option s(if i have options)?
thanks!

All responses

David Trey staff
Replied on Aug 14, 2014 - 12:59

Hello John,

The benefit of Todoist for Business is actually the option to pay for all users at once on a combined invoice which allows businesses which would like to offer Premium accounts for all employees to process the payment easily.

Now, if you prefer to just use Todoist Premium yourself and your team should have free accounts, please go to Business Admin -> Users and remove each user from the team. You could stay on the Business plan yourself and just pay for your account or also use "Cancel my account" on the "Accounts & Billing" tab and move back to Premium.

To collaborate with other people that have free account, you can just right-click on a project and choose "Share project" to invite them. This will not add them to your team and require paying for their accounts, they can have their own payment plans this way.


Regards,
David

JW
John Wambold premium
Replied on Aug 14, 2014 - 13:12

i see. thanks, David. so if i decide to just have myself premium and remove these users frm my team, will i loose all the tasks/projects i've shared wiht them during the trial? i am unsure about how the handoff would go in that scenario?

David Trey staff
Replied on Aug 14, 2014 - 13:14

John,

Whenever you remove a user, you would have an option to either:
- just remove them and do nothing else,
- or remove them along with the shared projects from your team,
- or completely delete their accounts removing all data - all projects (not recommended in this case).

I recommend using the first option in this situation.


Regards,
David

JW
John Wambold premium
Replied on Aug 14, 2014 - 13:23

excellent...thanks for the clarification. i do appreciate your prompt responses. may i ask one more question? so if i remove the other users, and i am the only "premium" user in my office just connecting and sharing projects/tasks with my colleagues who are using the "free" version, do i then also lose the Team Inbox?
thanks for your time & help!

David Trey staff
Replied on Aug 14, 2014 - 13:28

John,

You may as as many questions as you like, we'll gladly help you out anytime :-)

Given that you haven't made any payments for Business yet, you can remove everyone from the team and their account will have the same status they had before (free ones will stay free, Premium ones will be Premium). If you'll be the one left, you'll get an invoice just for your 1 account.

Sharing projects in general is a separate feature from inviting someone to a Business team - everyone can share regardless of their account status, but the purpose of a Biz team is actually the combined payment for everyone. However, make sure that when you go to the "Sharing" tab in the Business Admin panel, you allows your projects to be shared outside your Business team.

You will not lose the Team Inbox, but you'll be the only one seeing it as the other users will not be part of the team and this is a "special" project that's shared only with the Business Team automatically.


Regards,
David

JW
John Wambold premium
Replied on Aug 14, 2014 - 14:16

makes sense. thanks for your assistance and explanations...