+ Add Question

Sync Archive Projects

Hi

As soon as I archive a project it stops syncing with other users. They need to refer to these files from time to time. It also does not remove the project from their systems' active projects causing a mismatch in the sync numbers.
Thanks
Michael

All responses

Brendon Wadey staff
Replied on Jun 27, 2014 - 17:08 UTC

Hi,

When you archive a project its like completing a task which does not allow you to access it anymore. If these users sign out of Todoist and back in does the project still show, then it would appear to be a bug.

Regards,
Brendon.

pazmaniac premium
Replied on Jun 27, 2014 - 17:29 UTC

Hi

An archive is just that. A place to store where you can refer back to if
need be. It's for business, so all users involved should be able to access
it. Log out and in again still shows it on the other system, so it must be
a bug.

Thanks
On 27 Jun 2014 7:08 PM, "Todoist Support" <
support.xxxxxxxxxx@support.todoist.com> wrote:

> Todoist Support <http://todoist.com/Support/> | *Brendon Wadey*
> (Doist Support Staff) added a comment to question Sync Archive Projects
> <http://todoist.com/Support/show/34443/#comment_114746>
>
> Hi,
>
> When you archive a project its like completing a task which does not allow
> you to access it anymore. If these users sign out of Todoist and back in
> does the project still show, then it would appear to be a bug.
>
> Regards,
> Brendon.
> Click this link to see it:
> todoist.com/Support/show/34443/#comment_114746
> If you no longer wish to receive notification emails, click here to
> unsubscribe
> <http://todoist.com/Support/core/cancelSubscription/xxxx/xxxxxxxxxx/>
>

Brendon Wadey staff
Replied on Jun 27, 2014 - 17:40 UTC

Hi,

When you say stops syncing, what exactly do you mean, they click on the project and it loads no information?

I will pass this along to the devs.

Regards,
Brendon.

pazmaniac premium
Replied on Jun 27, 2014 - 18:16 UTC

If I archive the project In my system it goes into the archive and removes
the share. In my assistant's it shows as active and vice versa. As they
were shared projects they should go into all the share's archives.
On 27 Jun 2014 7:41 PM, "Todoist Support" <
support.xxxxxxxxxx@support.todoist.com> wrote:

> Todoist Support <http://todoist.com/Support/> | *Brendon Wadey*
> (Doist Support Staff) added a comment to question Sync Archive Projects
> <http://todoist.com/Support/show/34443/#comment_114756>
>
> Hi,
>
> When you say stops syncing, what exactly do you mean, they click on the
> project and it loads no information?
>
> I will pass this along to the devs.
>
> Regards,
> Brendon.
> Click this link to see it:
> todoist.com/Support/show/34443/#comment_114756
> If you no longer wish to receive notification emails, click here to
> unsubscribe
> <http://todoist.com/Support/core/cancelSubscription/xxxx/xxxxxxxxxx/>
>

pazmaniac premium
Replied on Jun 27, 2014 - 18:20 UTC

I have to say that I have spent at least 5 years looking for an effective
and simple job manager for my Custom shop and todist is the best I've found
and well on its way to being quite brilliant.
Thanks
Mike
PAZ
On 27 Jun 2014 7:41 PM, "Todoist Support" <
support.xxxxxxxxxx@support.todoist.com> wrote:

> Todoist Support <http://todoist.com/Support/> | *Brendon Wadey*
> (Doist Support Staff) added a comment to question Sync Archive Projects
> <http://todoist.com/Support/show/34443/#comment_114756>
>
> Hi,
>
> When you say stops syncing, what exactly do you mean, they click on the
> project and it loads no information?
>
> I will pass this along to the devs.
>
> Regards,
> Brendon.
> Click this link to see it:
> todoist.com/Support/show/34443/#comment_114756
> If you no longer wish to receive notification emails, click here to
> unsubscribe
> <http://todoist.com/Support/core/cancelSubscription/xxxx/xxxxxxxxxx/>
>

Brendon Wadey staff
Replied on Jun 27, 2014 - 18:32 UTC

Hi,

Thanks for the information I have passed this along and hope to find a solution.

Regards,
Brendon.

Brendon Wadey staff
Replied on Jul 03, 2014 - 14:52 UTC

Hi,

As it turns out, this is currently by design, though we may change this in future updates.

Regards,
Brendon.

DH
Dante Hernandez
Replied on Dec 06, 2014 - 00:25 UTC

Hi I'm having just the same problem. Last post says this behavior is by design. Would you please explain which is the purpose of this design? Just to know how should we be using TD.

Anyway, what we want is to archive a project so no one else can modify it and take it off from the active projects list. How can I achieve that? Should every user archive the project from their list? Doing that will not make projects list a mess?

Another thing that happened to us is that I renamed a project and the other person still saw the old name. Is it wrong to change a project's name?

Thanks

Brendon Wadey staff
Replied on Dec 06, 2014 - 03:10 UTC

Hi,

Once a project is shared, it becomes a new project for that person. They can rename and do anything with it. That is why archiving does not work, it basically just removes you from that project. This allows everyone to customize their list as they want.


Regards,
Brendon

DH
Dante Hernandez
Replied on Dec 08, 2014 - 17:05 UTC

I understand, but, wouldn't that be contradictory with completing a task and make such change public to the rest of the team so no one else can modify it? My suggestion is all actions should work the same way (someone applies them, everyone gets updated, like renaming a project or archiving it) otherwise it looks like things get out of sync and makes team perform manual tasks that one would expect to be automatic.

It is anyway a great tool, just trying to give ideas to make it better,


Best regards
Dante

pazmaniac premium
Replied on Dec 08, 2014 - 19:01 UTC

I think that allowing each person to treat the project differently defeats the idea of a project for us. It is a team project and is only complete when all tasks are complete, regardless as to who did what. When it is archived it should be archived for all. Maybe permissions could be granted so that it is archived correctly.

Please bring in a select all feature or a long press to select and multiple select.

Thanks