+ Add Question

How does one delete a project?

JW

How do you delete a project instead of archiving?

All responses

Clyde Romo staff
Replied on Jun 02, 2014 - 03:19 UTC

Hi Jeff,

You need to hover on the project that you want to delete. As soon as you do that, a 3-dot icon should show up. Click that icon and select "Delete project". Please note that you can never retrieve a deleted project.

Best Regards,

Clyde

JW
Jeff Wallace premium
Replied on Jun 02, 2014 - 03:26 UTC

Dear Clyde,



Thanks for your quick response. I found out that you need to get out of the project to do delete the Project. Perhaps you could change that.

Clyde Romo staff
Replied on Jun 02, 2014 - 03:30 UTC

Hi Jeff,

I just tested, even if you're in a project you can still delete it. What browser are you using and is it in the latest version?

If you try to delete a project while you're in it, does it give you a warning of some sort?

Best Regards,

Clyde

JW
Jeff Wallace premium
Replied on Jun 02, 2014 - 14:39 UTC

Dear Clyde,



Here’s the screen shot of what happens in Firefox 29.0.1 in which I right click a project and do not have a delete option. Yesterday, I was able to delete a project after I sent you an email about not being able to, but I forget how I did so. I simply think that right clicking a project should have a deletion option.

Clyde Romo staff
Replied on Jun 02, 2014 - 14:51 UTC

Hi Jeff,

Thank you for providing the details and screenshot. I'll pass this along to our developers.

Best Regards,

Clyde

MJ
Matt Jackson premium
Replied on Jun 05, 2014 - 16:36 UTC

I was having the same problem and found that if the project was shared, I could not delete. I had to remove the shared users first.

HC
HoJoon Chung
Replied on Jun 24, 2014 - 14:49 UTC

Also having the same issue. I cannot delete a shared project, and i cannot delete a user from the project. My only options are to leave the project and archive.

I'm fairly new to ToDoist, but just an idea here, assuming this feature is not already available. Perhaps you could let one user have administrative control over a project, where he/she can controls who is or isn't on the project and also has full rights to create and delete tasks. Whereas other users only have read rights, ability to complete tasks etc, but can't create or delete tasks.

David Trey staff
Replied on Jun 24, 2014 - 17:07 UTC

Hello Hojoon,

Thank you for your suggestion, we'll consider it for future updates.

For now, please note that "Leave project" is basically the equivalent of deleting a project for everyone who isn't the owner of this project.


Best regards,
David