+ Add Question

Recovering Deleted Tasks

N

I accidentally deleted a task with an important phone number. Is there a way I can recover the task info?

All responses

Brendon Wadey staff
Replied on May 29, 2014 - 17:07 UTC

Hi Nancy,

Unfortunately without already being Premium, there is no way to recover a deleted task. If you were Premium, there is a backups page.

Sorry about that.

Regards,
Brendon.

AG
Andy Garcia premium
Replied on Jun 04, 2014 - 23:18 UTC

Are there any plans to add an "undelete" option rather than having to go through a backup recovery process? I gotta say, this function should be a basic feature. Not real happy about this. I thought you guys had this feature in an earlier version?

Brendon Wadey staff
Replied on Jun 04, 2014 - 23:34 UTC

Andy,

It's possible to undo completed tasks but not if you delete it. Yes we will look into improving this in the future.

Regards,
Brendon.

ZE
Z E H Yoon premium
Replied on Jul 09, 2014 - 03:19 UTC

I agree with Andy Garcia.

I expected to see "Trash Bin" where deleted items could be sitting for a number of days before they disappear permanently. It has been a basic feature for other similar services I've been trying out, and I am dumbfounded not to see this feature while test-driving PREMIUM package. Having a back-up plan is a crucial part of the business, and daily backup is not enough to be a back-up plan. It jeopardizes the permanent loss of data at an amiss click. This is a serious chasm for a paid service.

I accidentally removed about 15 task items today. We did not know "sub-task" items would be removed too when the upper-tier task was removed. If the Todoist staff cannot restore the lost task items, we will end up wasting 2.5 hours that we spent to plan a project and notes/information associated with them. This is not something I expected for a paid service.

Brendon Wadey staff
Replied on Jul 09, 2014 - 03:21 UTC

Hi,

We are sorry to hear that, but there is no way (other than the backups) to recover a deleted task at this time. We will look into improving these options in future updates.

Regards,
Brendon.

M
mc@caretechsrl.com
Replied on Sep 27, 2014 - 10:25 UTC

Hello, I'm in the same boat of the previous user, trying out Todoist as a GTD application and suddenly realized I have no way to recover a task (along with all the sub-tasks, which can be in the order of hundreds in my own field of job).

The chance of deleting hours and hours of work by mistake is too high, especially for people that uses a large array of different devices, tablets, smartphones, web browsers...

I saw an UNDO button, but it appeared for a handful of seconds and disappeared by itself - after his demise, I have no way of recovering my data except from a full backup (if I have PREMIUM), as I read above.

... too bad that restoring a full backup would probably mean more hours of work would go lost as we would recover a point in time hours (days?) earlier than the present time.

I strongly hope to see some feedback from the dev team on this... "serious chasm" really describes this issue.

AG
Andy Garcia premium
Replied on Sep 27, 2014 - 21:45 UTC

I have a premium account, and honestly, had I realized this before I subscribed, I would never have paid. It's ridiculous that something as simple as an undelete option can't simply be coded in.

Unless this is rectified by the time my premium subscription ends, I will not be re-subscribing. What a shame, because everything else works great. But having lost a few tasks by inadvertently hitting the delete option, this is a very big deal for me.

And don't get me started on the restore from backup feature. Those of you who have endured the process will tell you that it is terrible to say the least. It's there, but believe me, you'll only want to use it in an extreme emergency. Its that tedious.

Ash W premium
Replied on Sep 28, 2014 - 01:23 UTC

Just something I'd like to point out, in case someone else has this issue:

The backups, if you download them, are text files. Extremely easy to read (There's no odd formatting or abbreviations or anything! It's just like it is online). So if you have the backups, you can easily just open the file, check whatever you needed to (like a phone number), and close it. No need to actually implement the backup. Premium auto-backs up for you, so you can open a backup from several days ago.