+ Add Question

Deleting

L

Does "Completed" delete a task? If not, how do you completely delete it?
If the task is scheduled to repeat daily, like on weekdays, does 'Completed' only remove it from that one day instead of all days?

All responses

David Trey staff
Replied on Mar 09, 2014 - 13:13 UTC

Hello Louis,

"Complete" moves the task to the history which you can see on the web by clicking on the circular icon below your task list in a project. You can delete tasks from there by clicking on the tools icon at the top and choosing the "Delete completed" option.

In case of recurring tasks - you can complete a recurring tasks for the last time by holding the SHIFT key while checking it off or right-clicking on it and choosing "Move to history". That's not available on the iOS app yet, though.


Best regards,
David

Sabrina Renee Chong premium
Replied on Jul 02, 2014 - 03:59 UTC

Hi David, when I check complete on Outlook Todoist it becomes grey but does not automatically move to history. I have to activate move to history and then click on refresh button to get rid of it of the list which is just one extra step too many :)

Clyde Romo staff
Replied on Jul 02, 2014 - 06:19 UTC

Hi Sabrina,

Are these sub-tasks? Sub-tasks were designed this way so they can be used to keep track of your progress.

Regards,

Clyde

Sabrina Renee Chong premium
Replied on Jul 03, 2014 - 11:28 UTC

Hi Clyde, yes indeed they are sub tasks. I see so the idea is leaving them there greyed out to see what tasts were completed under the main task. gotcha! Although I personally prefer to clear them off as I go as fast as I can :) Wish there was an option for that cos it's a bit of a pin having to add two steps to each sub task to be erased from list.

SL
Shirley Lu premium
Replied on Oct 02, 2014 - 18:15 UTC

I completely agree! I wish you would add a "settings" option for people to completely delete completed sub tasks, instead of having to manually delete a greyed out completed subtask. It seems to defeat the purpose of allowing users to be efficient with their time under ToDoist (for those of us who want this option). Thanks!!!

ŁR
Łukasz Rzepka premium
Replied on Oct 07, 2014 - 07:45 UTC

I agree! You should give an opportunity to archive the subtask or delete them (all groups automatically)

Example
Main task to do in Monday
subtask 1 (done)
subtask 2 (done)
subtask 3 (done)

Main task in Tuesday
subtask 1 (done)
subtask 2 (done)
subtask 3 (done)

I can't archive or delete subtask which were done... Please do something with that.
Lukas

Sabrina Renee Chong premium
Replied on Nov 03, 2014 - 06:44 UTC

I have noticed now of late that main tasks do not automatically clear but appear in grey at the bottom. First it only happened with sub tasks but now with main tasks? The refresh button is no longer available on Outlook or desktop. In order to clear completed tasks from a certain project, I have to jump into another project then go back to the former before the checked/completed tasks disappear.

I am not sure why the user interface has been made more complicated. Isn't Todoist meant to make it easier for me to complete my tasks and not making clearing my completed tasks (main or sub) another task? :)

Thank you in advance for looking into it and ensuring that Todoist continues to be my go-to task management tool.



Clyde Romo staff
Replied on Nov 03, 2014 - 07:34 UTC

Hi Sabrina,

The refresh/sync button can now be found as an option in the gear in the upper right corner. We've updated it so you can do a refresh/sync the same way in every platform that uses our webview thus making it more consistent. ;-)

Regarding main tasks not disappearing until you refresh or change to a different project, this is actually by design as this allows you to undo any tasks that you might have accidentally marked as completed. As you've noticed, it's temporary and will disappear when you move on to a different view.

As always, let me know if you have any other questions. :-)


Regards,
Clyde

JL
John Lea premium
Replied on Nov 03, 2014 - 15:06 UTC

I can't see any tools icon that allows me to 'delete complete'. If you mean the gearbox icon for settings then there is no delete complete option on my setup (Mac desktop). The only way I can find to delete tasks is to reinstate the completed tasks and then use the 'delete task' option. This means I've stopped using the completed tasks. I just delete. This is not satisfactory as I often have notes in a completed task that I still need to read

Brendon Wadey staff
Replied on Nov 03, 2014 - 15:09 UTC

John,

So you have gone into the project, and used the Wrench icon in the top, beside the share icon?


Regards,
Brendon

JL
John Lea premium
Replied on Nov 03, 2014 - 15:34 UTC

Got it! what confused me was that I was looking right at the top of the window rather than the (very faint!) grey icons that come up only when you select the individual task

Thanks for you speedy attention

John