+ Add Question

Assigning and scheduling tasks

PM

Todoist Next launch promises the ability to assign and schedule taks. Fantastic! Only thing is I cannot see any option to do this in the web app.

All responses

Brendon Wadey staff
Replied on Jan 22, 2014 - 20:19

Hi Paul,

Please right click on a project, and choose Share. Once that is done, any tasks within that project can be assigned to someone else. You will see the person icon when editing tasks within that project.

Regards,
Brendon.

Ian Smith premium
Replied on Jan 25, 2014 - 12:31

How can you shgare one task with more than one perosn, please?

Brendon Wadey staff
Replied on Jan 25, 2014 - 17:40

Hi Ian,

At this time it's not possible. The moment you add a new person, the previous person is not assigned anymore. We will consider adding more options in the future.

Regards,
Brendon.

Ian Smith premium
Replied on Jan 25, 2014 - 18:32

Thanks Brendon

I don;t want to be rude or negative...I do think this is a huge step forward and a great new feature for todoist, but I know how long these tweaks can take with a combinatio of limited resource and perceived need...espeically in these early days for Todoist Next

What wouod it take to make this happen and how long would it take...I truly think the inability to add more than one person to a task makes the option frustratingly restrictive.

Actually, to be more precise it is the inability ot allow more than one user to "see" the task.

I wouldn't even mind if, initially, 2 or more could see, but not alter/edit tasks in a project; with those assigned having the right to clear them.

I know you have wedoist, but as most of us maintain, the ability to carry the personal todolist with you outweights the collobarative nature of wedoist for may "simple" users.


David Trey staff
Replied on Jan 26, 2014 - 13:09

Hello Ian,

Unfortunately, we can't say if and when we would add such feature. Having the option to create sub-task, each goal can be easily assigned to multiple people - some responsible for some sub-tasks, others for the rest, which also gives a clear overview over everyone's responsibilities.

Even without an assignment, when you create the main task, you can always notify everybody in this project and who should be involved in this task, they can split it up and again - clearly assign their responsibilities.

You can view all tasks assigned to others with the "Assigned to other" filter or by including :to_others: in custom queries.

Of course if it won't work in your workflow at all, you're welcome to request this change in our Votebox: http://todoist.com/Vote/


Best regards,
David

GT
GTROC Treasurer
Replied on Jan 26, 2014 - 17:03

Thanks for the reply & I know these are early days, so it might be better to test a bit more and post a fresh item, apologies for being so "quick off the bat"...

However, I think I am right in saying the system actually does what I want, because if I share a project with 2 people, they can see all tasks (including those assigned to someone else)?

if that is correct then my only concerns are:

1. Should the system not prevent a user, who has access to project, completing tasks NOT assigned to them?

2. Presumably, if that user is a premium user they will be able to see and undelete tasks, otherwise the premium account owner would have to undelete them - correct?

David Trey staff
Replied on Jan 26, 2014 - 23:13

Hello,

The primary assumption in our sharing system is that you only invite people to projects that you can trust and know they won't delete tasks, complete other tasks for no reason etc. Otherwise, you can still create a separate project, for clients, for example.

The downside of not letting anyone else than the assigned person to complete a task would be that in case the person can't complete it because they are ill or can't work on it, this task would be "locked", if someone else would do the work, everyone would still see it and have to assume that it's done etc.

Regarding un-completing task - this is not a Premium-only feature, every user can click on the circular icon in the bottom-right corner to uncomplete a task.


Best regards,
David

Ian Smith premium
Replied on Jan 27, 2014 - 01:01

My bad - completed "view" is the premium feature.

I understand/agree with what you're saying, but as the owner can already (I think) undelete and re-assign tasks, then the problem you mention is easily fixed!

It would be great if you could therefore restrict completing the task to the assigned person (or owner)...just kind of helps people know who has done/is doing what.

As I say, great new features so don't take this comment the wrong way, but once we've shared a project, we're basically using allocation of tasks like a glorified label, so we know who is doing what...rather than "securing" them in any way?

As long as we teach those we share with to use :to_me: filter, it works!!