+ Add Question

slow

BM

i started using the free version to test it and its dreadfully slow. i use the latest version of chrome and a nexus 4. todist in chrome and gmail is alarmingly slow. the android app works just fine. the sync is diabolically inadequate; i deleted a couple of tasks on the android app and after 15 minutes it was still showing in todist on the site and gmail, despite numerous refreshes. i am happy to purchase the annual subscription if you can resolve the speed and sync issues.

All responses

Brendon Wadey staff
Replied on Jan 22, 2014 - 17:02 UTC

Hi Bency,

We are having server issues right now due to all the new users signing up. This should be resolved very soon.

Sorry!

Thanks,
Brendon.

BM
Bency M Kurian premium
Replied on Jan 22, 2014 - 17:11 UTC

hi brendon,

when do you expect to resolve this? i am in somewhat of a hurry, been evaluating many possibilities today and i like yours the best. anyway, somewhat puzzled that the android app is fine, expect its on different servers.

i also downloaded the desktop app for mac, which really isn't a desktop app anyway, and that too was painfully slow. i am looking for an alternative to omnifocus, i refuse to by an iphone because of an app.

cheers, ben

Brendon Wadey staff
Replied on Jan 22, 2014 - 17:12 UTC

Bency,

I don't have an ETA, but it's our main concern and should be soon.

Regards,
Brendon.

EB
Eric Borts premium
Replied on Jan 22, 2014 - 17:28 UTC

The web version is extremely slow for me as well, and has disconnected and entered "offline mode". Also, all the tasks I modified or added today are showing up 3 times (duplicates) in my interface. Totally not acceptable behavior for offline mode.

BM
Bency M Kurian premium
Replied on Jan 22, 2014 - 17:38 UTC

you are right eric, the sync is also off. i had to manually delete the tasks from the website and the gmail plugin. i subsequently added a task to the adroid app and that 10 mins ago and it hasn't turned up in the other 2 despite refreshing everything multiple times. they don't know when it'll be fixed either. quite a fiasco!

MM
Mike M premium
Replied on Jan 22, 2014 - 17:44 UTC

I remember wunderlist having issues with scaling when Wunderlist 2 came out... Let's hope it won't get Doist a few days to sort this out... iOS cannot sync :-(

Brad Ames premium
Replied on Jan 22, 2014 - 17:57 UTC

Not to pile on but I'm experiencing issues with both the web app and iOS app as well. Hopefully they'll get this fixed quickly.

Michael Potter premium
Replied on Jan 22, 2014 - 18:06 UTC

Hello Brendon and Todoist Team,

It might be nice to have a service widget on the main support page that reports if Todoist is working on a current issue.

Evernote provides the following page to users: https://evernote.com/contact/support/

Thanks,

Michael

Brendon Wadey staff
Replied on Jan 22, 2014 - 18:07 UTC

Michael,

We are working on a whole new support area, and that is a good suggestion that we may include.

Again, we are still working on the server issues, we really do hope it won't be much longer.

Sorry.

Brendon.

BM
Bency M Kurian premium
Replied on Jan 23, 2014 - 06:12 UTC

its all working fine. just paid for the subscription! good work, very impressed with the speed at which you resolved the issues.

A
AERIEN premium
Replied on Apr 29, 2014 - 09:27 UTC

Долго выбирал подходящее приложение для ведения своих задач, и остановился на Todoist. Понравилось всё, функционал, возможности, дизайн, дополнительные "фишки" для Premium-аккаунтов.
Решил оплатить Premium подписку. Круто. Завёл несколько задач в PC-версии ( ОС linux, браузер firefox ). И решил посмотреть, как это всё синхронизируется с телефоном ( Android 4.2.2 ).
И о, разочарование! После входа в приложение с телефона ( логинюсь с помощью Google-аккаунта ), мне пишут сообщение "Здравствуй, User", и всё.. ничего не происходит. Совсем. И так минут 5, 10, 15, 20.... Точнее, я догадываюсь, что это происходит синхронизация.
Но разве она может быть НАСТОЛЬКО медленной?!

Судя по посту Brendon Wadey от 22 января "We are having server issues right now due to all the new users signing up. This should be resolved very soon."

За это время НИЧЕГО НЕ ИЗМЕНИЛОСЬ?!

Почитал на вашем сайте, такая проблема была и раньше, в 2012 году.

Ребята, у вас что нет нормальных серверов?! Когда наконец вы сделаете нормальную синхронизацию за приемлемое время? ( хотя бы не больше 10 секунд )

A
AERIEN premium
Replied on Apr 29, 2014 - 09:34 UTC

Да, если что, забегая вперёд, и отвечая на вопросы, которые задавались другим пользователям с похожей проблемой:

1. Да, с полной web-версией ( linux, firefox ) проблем нет, логиниться мгновенно.

2. Да, на android переустанавливал приложение. И не один раз. И кэш чистил. И телефон перезагружал. Ничего не помогает.

A
AERIEN premium
Replied on Apr 29, 2014 - 10:38 UTC

Да, и ещё. Когда Android приложению всё-таки удаётся синхронизироваться, спустя полчаса, появляются дубликаты. Дубликаты проектов, меток, задач. Так же не должно быть?

David Trey staff
Replied on Apr 29, 2014 - 12:20 UTC

Hello Aerien,

We're sorry to hear that, syncing shouldn't take more than 5-20 seconds depending on how much data you have and we can't reproduce this issue right now, everything seems to sync fine very fast.

That said, please tell me:
- Are you using any custom ROMs?
- What's your internet download speed in the network you use?
- How many tasks do you have on your account approximately?
- Did you import large amounts of tasks lately?


Best regards,
David

A
AERIEN premium
Replied on Apr 29, 2014 - 12:58 UTC

Thanks for the quick reply, David.

- Antutu App ( tab "info" ) says 238,0/972.2 Mb
- SpeedTest App says:
Download mbps/Upload mbps
8.07/0.46
7.17/1.07
13.12/1.07
- Currently 18 tasks and 3 duplicated tasks( only in the Android version ).
- No, I didn't.

----------------------------------------------------
Спасибо за быстрый ответ, Давид.

- Приложение Antutu ( вкладка "Info" ), говорит 238,0/972.2 Mb.
- Приложение SpeedTest говорит, что:
Получение mbps/Передача mbps
8.07/0.46
7.17/1.07
13.12/1.07
- На текущий момент 18 задач и 3 продублированные задачи ( только в Android версии ).
- Нет.

A
AERIEN premium
Replied on Apr 29, 2014 - 13:12 UTC

I don't use custom ROMs. My device isn't rooted.
---------------------------------------------------------------------
Я не использую пользовательские прошивки. Моё устройство не имеет рутового доступа.

David Trey staff
Replied on Apr 29, 2014 - 13:54 UTC

Aerien,

Thank you for this information, I'll pass it to our developers and we'll look into this.


Best regards,
David

David Trey staff
Replied on May 01, 2014 - 11:39 UTC

Aerien,

Our developers have analyzed it on the back-end, checked some logs and they can't reproduce or confirm this issue. Please confirm if it still persists, and if it does, could you sign-up for the beta version 4.0 of our app (which we've used to test this)?

You can get it by joining the beta community on Google+ https://plus.google.com/communities/108057919781399570441


Best regards,
David

A
AERIEN premium
Replied on May 01, 2014 - 11:58 UTC

Thank you, David!

I noticed that
1) all duplicates disappear when I logout the application, clear the cache of the App, reboot my phone and re-login again;
2) but it is still very slow :( I have to wait sync about twenty minutes.


P.S. Thanks, I signed-up for the beta version.

David Trey staff
Replied on May 01, 2014 - 12:12 UTC

Aerien,

So, just to clarify - the sync is also very slow on the beta version 4.0?


Best regards,
David

A
AERIEN premium
Replied on May 01, 2014 - 17:39 UTC

Yes, the sync is slow too.

Does the algorithm of the sync check the time zone?

I guess that slow speed of the sync may be associated with clarifying or checking time zone. I have to wait very long to see( or select ) my time zone In the Android version.

David Trey staff
Replied on May 01, 2014 - 17:49 UTC

Aerien,

Thank you for this information, I will pass it to the developers to make sure if it can be time-zone related, but thank you for mentioning this, it could help us identify this issue.


Best regards,
David

David Trey staff
Replied on May 01, 2014 - 18:32 UTC

Aerien,

One more thing - do you see the time zone popup when opening the app and if so, how long does it take for it to show up (approximately)?


Best regards,
David

A
AERIEN premium
Replied on May 01, 2014 - 18:46 UTC

1) When opening the web app - No.
2) When opening the Android app - No.

In both apps - GMT +4 Europe/Moscow.
But in the web app I can change it immediately.
In the Android App the list of time zones is loaded very slowly ( approximately the same time as the sync proceeds ) .

David Trey staff
Replied on May 01, 2014 - 21:47 UTC

Aerien,

Our developer would like to know how long it takes between making any change in the Settings and seeing the "Synced successfully" message. Please let us know.


Best regards,
David

A
AERIEN premium
Replied on May 04, 2014 - 10:47 UTC

Sometimes it takes 1-3 seconds.
But more often I see nothing or the message

"Произошла неизвестная ошибка. Пожалуйста, подождите несколько секунд и попробуйте ещё раз"

some minutes later.

A
AERIEN premium
Replied on May 12, 2014 - 14:02 UTC

Hi, guys! Are there any news about my problem?

David Trey staff
Replied on May 13, 2014 - 15:57 UTC

Aerien,

We're sorry for the delays, it seems to be part of a bit complex issue, but we're working on it along with other sync improvements (which might have affected this).


Best regards,
David