+ Add Question

Moved tasks disappeared

J

Hello,
I moved one task with 5 sub-tasks from one project to another. The tasks disappeared from the source project and did not show up in the target one.
Steps:
- select source project
- selected "move to another project" in contextual menu of top task
- popup appears with list of projects
- clicked target project
- clicked upper right cross to dismiss the popup (could not find a more appropriate dismiss button).

thanks and regards

All responses

J
jerome.celle
Replied on Nov 08, 2013 - 10:17

Update:
Tasks reappeared after a F5 refresh.
Started the move operation all over again and this time it worked.
Case closed !

J
jerome.celle
Replied on Apr 04, 2014 - 06:48

Happened again:
Tried today to select multiple tasks.
On top of screen various actions buttons appeared, one of them being 'move'.
Clicked on this 'move' button, selected one project: the tasks disapeared and also seemed to lost their label !!!
Now I am stuck.
Do you have a way to recover my tasks ?
That would not only help me for my work but also for deciding if I should renew my premium account in the next few days.
Thanks and regards.

J
jerome.celle
Replied on Apr 04, 2014 - 06:58

I think I can provide additional information.
Before attempting to move the tasks, I had tagged them with a brand new tag, deleted the project they were belonging to (wanted to reorganize from a 'project' to 'label' structure). The tasks apppeared under the tag I had assigned to them and then I tried to move them to another project which made them disappear, maybe because the tasks were referenceing a deleted project.
Please help me, this is rather important and I don't remember all of the tasks that got swallowed by todoist black hole.
many thanks in advance

David Trey staff
Replied on Apr 04, 2014 - 12:03

Hello Jerome,

Every task in our system can only exist inside a project (that includes the "Inbox" also as a project). If you've deleted a project that contained tasks - they're indeed gone. Please tell me, when you did that, did the warning message pop up and ask you to confirm to delete the project along with its content?

Now, the only way to recover deleted elements is by going to Settings -> Backups, downloading the most recent backup file and using the TXT file of the related project with the "Import tasks from template" feature (as shown in the help video at the bottom of the backups window).


Best regards,
David

J
jerome.celle
Replied on Apr 04, 2014 - 12:42

Hi David,
Thanks for your reply.
I understand the fact that deleting a project can delete its content, and this is what I did without knowing at that time: I thought that project was just an another attribute you could attach to a task, like a label.

- There was no warning message popup for this
- Moreover, I was able to access the tasks afterwards !!! (I caught them by the 'labels' filter). But after trying to move the tasks to a new project they were gone. This is why I got puzzled a little bit.

Nevertheless I got them back through the backup, so no worries.
Thanks again for your input.