+ Add Question

"move to history"

AP

Hi all,

what exactly does "move to history" in the drop down menu of a task do? Archive it? Complete it?
What effect does moving a task to history have to karma?

Thanks and regards,
Andy

All responses

David Trey staff
Replied on Jul 01, 2013 - 17:51 UTC

Hello Andy,

"Move to history" marks a task as completed and places it in the "Completed" list (history). Basically, it's the same as completing a regular non-recurring task, however it forces a recurring task to be completed and removed from the active task list so that's the main implication for it - to check off a recurring task the last time you complete it.

Also, it allows you to remove a completed sub-task from the active task list. The keyboard shortcut for this feature is SHIFT so if you hold down the Shift key and check off a task, then even if it's recurring or a sub-task it will be completed and removed from the list.

Since this feature is technically nothing else than just a completion of a task, you get positive Karma for it.


Best regards,
David

AP
Andy Puest premium
Replied on Jul 01, 2013 - 19:00 UTC

Hi David,
thanks for the extensive reply. I plan to use it to complete "asterix tasks" (without the checkbox).
Rgds,
Andy

MG
Michel Goossens premium
Replied on Jan 09, 2014 - 12:00 UTC

Hello, i am new to todoist and I clicked on move to history by accident. I tried to recover the task but it has completely disappeared. So how do I recover that task ? Thank you.

MG
Michel Goossens premium
Replied on Jan 09, 2014 - 12:09 UTC

Answering to myself, I found the little button like a clock with a backwards arrow at the right bottom of the project view.

A
adirtaddeo premium
Replied on Aug 22, 2014 - 22:49 UTC

The "Move to history" should be rename to "Complete Recurring task".

Lauri Reinart premium
Replied on Nov 11, 2014 - 17:04 UTC

Hello!

I think that it is good that the completed task doesn't dissapear at once it's marked as complete. It's handy when I assigne a whole bunch of tasks to co-workers and after that I review whats done then i clearly see it. And sometimes I check it as undone because there is still something missing.

But usually after reviewing the tasks I do need to hide them and sometimes there is a whole bunch of them.

I can't un-check and then re-check holding Shift because then the assignees get false notifications.

I tried to Ctrl-select several tasks and then from the drop-down menu - Move to history but that also doesn't seem to work.

Long story shortly:
Is there a way to move several tasks to history at ones or is there a shortcut-key to do it?