Hi, is there an option to undo deletion of a Project?
I accidently have deleted a project with several tasks underneath...:s
Unfortunately, it's not possible to undo the deletion of a project. With Todoist Premium, you would have access to backups of all your projects created automatically each day from which you could import the tasks from this project, but on a free account, when you confirm the deletion of the projects listed in the warning box, there's unfortunately, no option to recover them.
Really disapointing when you work an hour to do planification than you delete your project by error and can't undo. I do pay for this. Please correct this problem.
We've implemented an alert message that warns you that you're about to delete a project, lists its name and the name of any sub-projects that will be deleted, if there are any. If you agree to the deletion, then there's still an option to retrieve the data through Settings -> Backups, if a backup of it was created.
Do you use your Tool yourself? Doesn't seem so, cause when working fast this message is (sorry) bullshit. And recover through a backup? You really want us to redo all other changes that have been made in the meanwhile? You must be kidding.
We're using Todoist every day and we also use it very fast. The steps to delete a project are right-click -> select "Delete" -> and then confirm the deletion in the warning window. If you're triggering this often accidentally, please describe in what workflow does it happen exactly, it would help us improve it once we know in what situation it often happens to you.
lists its name and the name of any sub-projects that will be deleted
sorry i just reread this, should it not list any tasks you have under that will also be deleted?
That possible but that can result to one long warning prompt? ;-) Warning you that a project and sub-project is about to be deleted is your cue to decide if you want to really do it or not. If you're not sure, you can always check the those projects individually.
ok maybe it should say,
you have # open tasks and # completed tasks under this project are you sure you want to delete?
i thought i was deleting the empty project (they were the same name) and it wasn't argh :(
I see. That's actually valid scenario. We'll consider adding it in the future. Sorry for the inconvenience. :-(
Hi, there is definitely no warning for deleting files as it says there are above. I just lost key data that I added straight to todoist during a client analysis for a highly complex project. Why is there no undo button, why is there no trash bin so you can recover, why is there no restore?? I can see that for 2 years people have been asking this over and over and over, and it is a key function of anything that stores key data.
I love todoist but this is a total rookie error.
When will this function be enabled? People using todoist and losing such key data is a disaster.