+ Add Question

Can't delete completed tasks that were once sub-tasks

MG

I saw this answer https://todoist.com/Support/showQuestion/3902/ so I know it's normal for completed sub-tasks not being deleted.

But I have various completed sub-tasks that I moved to another project and then made them tasks (instead of sub-tasks). Still, they don't disappear when I click the 'Delete the completed task' link. Seems like a bug to me.

Actually, I just want these completed taks out of my view. So deleting them may not the ideal solution, but I don't know what else I can do to make them disappear. These tasks seem to 'remember' they were sub-tasks once and keep behaving like that.

All responses

RM
Randolph Miller premium
Replied on Apr 05, 2013 - 09:35

Michel,

When you you say that you moved the sub-tasks to another Project and then made then Tasks, do you mean that the Tasks were first sub-tasks in their new home (the Project to which they were moved), or did the sub-tasks become Tasks as soon as they were moved to their new home? (sorry, just trying to get clarity).

Do the Tasks that have been moved have their checkboxes checked? If so, have you tried 'unchecking' the checkbox and the 'rechecking' the box? I just tried recreating your scenario and the completed sub-tasks, when moved to a new Project, retained their Completed status, but moved to Completed when I 'unchecked' and 'rechecked' the box.

Sorry if the answer is more confusing than the question! Post back if I've lost you! :)


Best regards,
Randy Miller

MG
Michel Gort premium
Replied on Apr 05, 2013 - 09:43

Hi Randy,

Thank you for your quick reply. Yes, they were first completed sub-tasks in project A. I then moved them to project B and made them tasks. All the time, they were already completed.

Unchecking and checking them again 'solves' the problem indeed, but that seems more like a work-around to me :) I thought it would be more logical that, as soon as a completed sub-task is changed in a completed task, it is moved to the completed tasks section (at the the end of the projectlist).

David Trey staff
Replied on Apr 05, 2013 - 11:22

Hello Michael,

As I've mentioned in the other thread you were referring to - you can force each sub-task to go to the history right away if you hold the SHIFT key while you're checking it off. This way you don't have to move them to other projects and they will disappear from your active task list upon completion.


Best regards,
David

MG
Michel Gort premium
Replied on Apr 05, 2013 - 12:00

Hi David,

The reason for moving the completed (and also not completed) sub-tasks to another project and changing them into tasks was not to make them disappear. I wanted to organize these subtasks in their own project, so they had to become normal tasks. After I moved them, it felt unnecessary to keep the completed tasks in my view. I expected them to move to the completed tasks as soon as I changed them form sub-tasks to normal tasks, but they didn't.


In other words:
-When you check off a normal task, it moves to the completed items
-When you check off a sub-task and then change it into a normal task, it does NOT move to the completed items. I think it should :)

David Trey staff
Replied on Apr 05, 2013 - 12:07

Michael,

Thank you for the clarification. You're welcome to add a request for such feature to our Votebox: http://todoist.com/Vote/ and we may consider adding it in the future.


Best regards,
David