+ Add Question

Old Tasks Not Archiving

So I've had completed tasks sitting in my list for days now. It doesn't matter if I log out and log back in - still there. What can I do to clear these old items out?

All responses

David Trey staff
Replied on Feb 15, 2013 - 18:26

Hello Jake,

Please clarify - are you referring to parent tasks or sub-tasks? Parent tasks should move to the history along with all their sub-tasks upon completion. Sub-tasks, on the other hand, stay grayed out on the list until their parent task is completed.

You can force a move to the history for any task by right-clicking on it and choosing "Move to history". If you want to force a sub-task to be removed from the list right away, please hold the SHIFT key while checking it off.

If you're not referring to sub-tasks, please tell me:
- Are you experiencing this issue in the web-app or our mobile apps or any other plugins?
- What browser are you using?
- Can you reproduce this issue in a different browser?
- How exactly are you completing tasks - from within a project, a label search result, due date views?


Best regards,
David

Jake Love premium
Replied on Feb 15, 2013 - 18:32

Ok that makes more sense. It looks like technically the items I'm talking about are sub items. Since I have a title item like *!!Title Here!! and then below it the box is moved over to the right one, this means its a sub items right? I could be wrong - but I thought it was auto-clearing those out before. Was I just not paying attention?

Either way - I think this solves my issue. Last question: Does holding shift and checking the box delete the message or just force it to be completed and moved to history?

Thanks!
Jake

David Trey staff
Replied on Feb 15, 2013 - 19:02

Jake,

You're right - these are indeed sub-tasks. The mechanism that keeps sub-tasks on the list has been there for a long time, it's unlikely that they were removed as you've completed them.

Holding SHIFT and checking off a sub-task will have the same effect as if it was a regular parent task which means - it will be completed and moved to the "Get completed tasks" list at the bottom. It will not be deleted so you can view and, if necessary, un-check such tasks anytime.


Best regards,
David

Jake Love premium
Replied on Feb 16, 2013 - 23:57

Fantastic! Thanks Again!

Jake