+ Add Question

Uncomplete with subtasks (logic error bug)

U

Hello,

Assume I create a project "foo" with task "bar", and bar contains indented subtasks "baz" and "qux", etc.

if I accidentally click the complete checkbox for bar, then correct the error by unchecking (uncompleting) it, when bar is restored, baz and qux will be marked as complete, even if they were not initially.

Moreover, I think it's a serious logic error to assume that if you deem a task complete, that you necessarily want to constrain all subtasks to being complete as well.

Thanks.

All responses

David Trey staff
Replied on Feb 22, 2012 - 13:45 UTC

Hello,

this is not a bug, sub-tasks are currently considered parts of 1 task which is the parent task and if the parent task is being completed, all its parts are considered to be complete.

Still, thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it and will consider changing the behavior of sub-tasks upon completion of the whole task.

You're welcome to add a feature request to our Votebox:
http://todoist.com/Vote/


Best regards,
David

U
Unknown
Replied on Feb 22, 2012 - 13:53 UTC

David,

Thank you. So it's not a bug, it's a feature?

I can tell you that I've accidentally clicked the box at least twice and instantly lost the data (which subtasks were complete and which were not) with no way to recover that data.

An alternative (maybe more simple) fix would be to put a confirm on completing tasks that still have uncompleted subtasks. If you want to be very flexible, just put an option under your preferences so users can elect to have a confirmation or not.

David Trey staff
Replied on Feb 22, 2012 - 17:44 UTC

Thank you for your suggestions, we will consider altering this behavior so that at least not completed sub-tasks would be recovered with their current status when you check of their parent task and want to recover its complete structure.

You're welcome to add this suggestion to our Votebox:
http://todoist.com/Vote/


Best regards,
David

P
Phil premium
Replied on Sep 12, 2012 - 12:03 UTC

Hi, I have a premium account and have accidentally marked as complete - there must be a way to uncomplete/deselect it - please tell me how

David Trey staff
Replied on Sep 12, 2012 - 12:57 UTC

Hello Phil,

in order to retrieve a completed task, simply enter the project in which it's been placed, click on the "Get completed tasks" link at the bottom of the list and un-check the box next to this task.

Completed tasks are stored infinitely on this list unless you click on the "Delete completed" link.


Best regards,
David