+ Add Question

IMPORTANT: Status on missing tasks

We have had corruption issues with our database that has marked all tasks as completed. We are still unsure why this has happened and are working on a fix.

No data has been lost and we are currently restoring data from our backups. It will probably take a few hours.

We are very sorry about this :( and will look more deeply into how this can be avoided in the future.

Best regards,
Amir

All responses

U
Unknown
Replied on Jul 28, 2011 - 07:36

THANK YOU!

GOOD LUCK!

U
Unknown
Replied on Jul 28, 2011 - 07:37

So wait! When was your backup taken?

U
Unknown
Replied on Jul 28, 2011 - 07:37

If you are restoring from a backup then we have lost data, unless you can roll forward from logs or something.

Amir Salihefendic staff
Replied on Jul 28, 2011 - 07:39

We will merge our backups into the current data. The tasks you have added recently will not be deleted or changed.

Best regards,
Amir

B
beverly
Replied on Jul 28, 2011 - 07:42

Amir--can you send us an e-mail when it is ready?

CH
Cathy Huang
Replied on Jul 28, 2011 - 07:42

i nearly shatted when i found all my to do items under completed. people should be happy to have accomplished all of their tasks right? well, i'm cleaning up the crap in my pants hopefully in time to find my to do list back up.

RH
Rachel Head
Replied on Jul 28, 2011 - 07:43

Ahhh I am lost without my todoist! I need it tomorrow for work. I really hope it was a recent back up!

The numbers attached to my project lists still look about right so I think I am okay.

3 years of using todoist and never a problem. I've come to rely on you.

JB
Jim Brockman premium
Replied on Jul 28, 2011 - 07:43

Thanks for the update Amir.

U
Unknown
Replied on Jul 28, 2011 - 07:43

So it took you over 6 hours to tweet and let your many users know you acknowledged the problem and are working on it? I understand that problems happen but leaving us all in the dark and worried for the entire work day is unacceptable. I'll be spending my weekend moving everything to a more reliable service.

DK
David Kay
Replied on Jul 28, 2011 - 07:47

Thanks for being proactive about communicating this at the top of your support page! I really appreciate knowing. Good luck getting back on line quickly. @Jen, I have to say, I work in tech support and this is pretty good (especially for a free service.)

U
Unknown
Replied on Jul 28, 2011 - 07:50

Looking forward to a positive update.

CL
C Luc Reid
Replied on Jul 28, 2011 - 07:50

Thanks Amir, for this and the tweet; much appreciated.

RH
Rachel Head
Replied on Jul 28, 2011 - 07:51

I'm from England. I went without it from lunchtime and I am just seeing this. Is the support team based in America? If so, win! You still have 4 office hours to fix it and get it back up for tomorrow's work day :) I really need it tomorrow.

HF
Hirsch Fishman premium
Replied on Jul 28, 2011 - 08:00

I'm glad to see that the problem is being fixed, but like others have said, some communication about the existence of the problem would have been much appreciated. I rely on Todoist very much and feel lost without it. But, at least it will be back soon - thanks!

K
Karthik
Replied on Jul 28, 2011 - 08:04

Your team really needs to learn from this experience. First, this is not a game for many of us. This is my GTD. It's the first thing I look at when I wake up.

* create a status.todoist.com on a separate server.

* Have alerts set up such that someone on your team is immediately aware of any downtime.

* Give us the option to backup our todo items. Maybe set up an automated backup that can display a html list (of all projects and items on one page) that we can access at downtimes like these (it's trivial to do).

* Credit us pro users for one month of service.

JL
Joke LvB
Replied on Jul 28, 2011 - 08:05

Thanks for the update. Glad you're working hard on it.
Joke

CH
Cathy Huang
Replied on Jul 28, 2011 - 08:19

Is the issue isolated enough to estimate a reasonable ETA? This will make a difference in my life if I know if the issues will be fixed within the next 4 hours versus 24 hours.

PA
Penny Allen
Replied on Jul 28, 2011 - 08:23

I'm mostly just irate that I didn't have any what was going on. Fine, you work out what happened technically and get us back in business... but you had better sit down and ask yourselves some hard questions about why you didn't notify people.

Crisis Management 101 -- tell people what the hell is going on.

GK
Grzegorz Kopel
Replied on Jul 28, 2011 - 08:34

Hi Amir,

Thanks for the info, good luck.

Best regards,
Greg.

RH
Rachel Head
Replied on Jul 28, 2011 - 08:39

I think todoist is great. I've used it for 3 years and on and off for years before that without any problems. This is the first time I have been unable to access my lists.

I think that is worthy of praise as I have used other systems that have messed up numerous times.

Yep, I was lost without my lists today. I don't know how quick todoist responded as I didn't have time at work to check what was going on. I found out when I got home.

It is getting fixed. Shit happens. Mistakes are made. We all make loads.

RH
Rachel Head
Replied on Jul 28, 2011 - 08:39

I think todoist is great. I've used it for 3 years and on and off for years before that without any problems. This is the first time I have been unable to access my lists.

I think that is worthy of praise as I have used other systems that have messed up numerous times.

Yep, I was lost without my lists today. I don't know how quick todoist responded as I didn't have time at work to check what was going on. I found out when I got home.

It is getting fixed. Shit happens. Mistakes are made. We all make loads.

RH
Rachel Head
Replied on Jul 28, 2011 - 08:41

I think todoist is great. I've used it for 3 years and on and off for years before that without any problems. This is the first time I have been unable to access my lists.

I think that is worthy of praise as I have used other systems that have messed up numerous times.

Yep, I was lost without my lists today. I don't know how quick todoist responded as I didn't have time at work to check what was going on. I found out when I got home.

It is getting fixed. Shit happens. Mistakes are made. We all make loads.

Amir Salihefendic staff
Replied on Jul 28, 2011 - 08:46

We are still working on the restore. The ETA is hard to calculate since we have many millions tasks to sync, but the estimation is the next couple of hours.

This also seems to be an attack using our API, at least by looking at the logs. We have fixed this problem so it can't be misused in the future.

Regarding our response time:
This is the first major outbreak in the last 3 years. Unfortunaley most of our team was asleep when this happend which has made matters worse. We will take a notice of this and learn from this experience and try to improve it for the future.

Best regards,
Amir

PS
Peter Stewart premium
Replied on Jul 28, 2011 - 08:53

Thanks. I need this site.

JA
Julio Andrade
Replied on Jul 28, 2011 - 09:05

Amir - thanks for the info. I have to agree that some way of knowing whatis going on ASAP is necessary. I've spent a chunk of my time today looking for an alternative. I'm not a Pro user, but I was considering it this week, as I need more features. I'm lost as to what to do today, since I rely on you all so much. Things happen, I know, but, well, you know.

Thanks - Julio

David Trey staff
Replied on Jul 28, 2011 - 09:08

Hello,

we are terribly sorry about this issue and will do anything to prevent something like this from happening ever again :(

As Amir said, all your data is safe - everything you had before this outage will be restored, put back in place and merged with everything you've added recently.

As for your individual questions:

@Beverly
Yes, we will inform you once everything has been brought back.

@Rachel
The reason why you see the correct task count next to your project is that the tasks themselves were not lost, just marked as complete, but the task count has not been affected by it.
As for the 4 remaining "office hours" - we will work as long as it takes to bring all your data back regardless of office hours.

@Karthik
I assure you, we've learned from this situation. Unfortunately, we've learned it the hard way. We've been already working on an off-line support for Todoist which will store your data on your computer and we will introduce it soon, which will additionally prevent any data loss.

@Jen, Hirsch, Penny
This issue has also affected this support section and getting it back in order to inform you about the status was a priority. We're very sorry we weren't able to update you on the current status earlier :(

Again, we're very sorry for the inconvenience and will keep you posted on any updates.


Best regards,
David

KP
Kathryn Presner
Replied on Jul 28, 2011 - 09:13

For anyone looking for a backup option, I use this free tool:

http://www.kinggary.com/tools/todoist-export.php

I schedule it as a recurring task in Todoist - of course! ;-) - and perform the backup weekly, but you could do it as often as you like.

Of course it would ideally be nice to have something more automated, but this is better than nothing.

AM
Allison Matherly premium
Replied on Jul 28, 2011 - 09:17

To all the people who are worried about having a backup: you always have the option to save the site as a pdf. Then you'd have a simple backup, until they roll out their offline support. Just an idea I thought I'd share! :)

BP
Ben Poole
Replied on Jul 28, 2011 - 09:44

Amir, what if we have tried to reorder some of the existing items ourselves? Will this cause a problem with the merge?

UG
Uncle Glenn
Replied on Jul 28, 2011 - 09:56

It doesn't restore my completed tasks, not all of them. some of them are greyed out and there's no way to restore them at all (nothing to click on and restore them).

N
nielsm premium
Replied on Jul 28, 2011 - 10:07

Sounds like you're doing everything you can do, given the circumstances.

Much better response than some other companies (*cough* Dropbox *cough*) have shown in the not so distant past.

Thanks!

Hoping it won't take too long, anyway. Without todoist I have no idea... what to do. >.<

A
Aaron
Replied on Jul 28, 2011 - 11:03

Glad to know you're already working on it. I love this service. This is the first issue I've ever had and it's nice to see the quick response. Would that my Web host would respond so quickly. :/

U
Unknown
Replied on Jul 28, 2011 - 11:09

I love your service... and have become hopelessly dependent on it. I hope things are corrected soon. Will check back in an hour.

ZM
Zainep M
Replied on Jul 28, 2011 - 11:24

Thanks for the update on this! I just appreciate the communication. Can't wait for the site to be up and running as normal.

TS
Tommy Stroozas
Replied on Jul 28, 2011 - 11:45

As a systems admin in a tech company who provides web based services like yourself, I feel your pain.

If your operation is based on the reliability of AWS, I literally just shed a tear...

Thanks for the update!

JY
Julia Young
Replied on Jul 28, 2011 - 11:53

I love Todoist - I've never been so organized in my life! My colleague and I were both shocked this morning, but had confidence it would get worked out. Keep up the good work! I did restore some of my "completed" tasks (the ones I noticed shouldn't have been completed). Hope that doesn't mess anything up when you do the merge... Anyway, thanks for providing such a great tool and working hard to fix it.

RJ
Russ Jackson premium
Replied on Jul 28, 2011 - 12:04

Sorry to hear you had some troubles. But in any online service you can't expect perfection. Even Amazon and Google have had their issues pretty recently. And if you haven't had your computer crash and lose data ever, then chances are you will soon. I know the service is important to everyone - it's important to me. But if it is so vital, maybe you need to look at other services which promise 5-9's reliability and an enforceable SLA... (by the way, you're not getting this anywhere for free or even *gasp* $3/month!)

Todoist is awesome - keep up the great work!

PA
Penny Allen
Replied on Jul 28, 2011 - 12:14

@David Trey

Thanks for the update. Only feedback is that the front page of your application didn't seem to be affected. Perhaps the conversation that needs to happen is "how can we notify people if the support page is down too :)" Sorry, I work in QA - excuses are anathema.


@Russ Jackson

Must be an interesting life you lead - to feel like you can give your data to a cloud company with no expectation of when or if you will get it back. And feeling comfortable enough in your superiority to chastise other people for their trust in that company and need to get that data. Someday I hope to reach that level of nirvana. Someday.

GM
Greg Montalbano
Replied on Jul 28, 2011 - 12:27

Things happen, deal with it. The service has been nothing but outstanding and reliable. I feel your pain, and can't imagine how large your DB must be. Good luck with that!

S
Sriram
Replied on Jul 28, 2011 - 13:10

Thanks for update. Was bit confused with all the tasks in the completed status. Good luck. Hope all is well tommorow.

CH
Cathy Huang
Replied on Jul 28, 2011 - 15:03

People have been very nice and patient. But it has been several hours into the database fix. And the todoist page said it would be fixed by 18:00 my time. It is 18:01 OR 6:01PM (PST) (yes I waited 1 minute), and it still has the same 18:00 ETA. Is that ETA for another day? Have there been setbacks that has pushed back the ETA?

CH
Cathy Huang
Replied on Jul 28, 2011 - 15:16

I see the ETA has been pushed back an hour - 19:00 my time. How realistic is this? Just want to know if I should try to focus on something else and come back in an hour. I just do not want to be strewn along then and have the ETA updated again and again. I won't die (hehe), but the items on my todoist are an essential part of my day-to-day activities.

B
Baumann premium
Replied on Jul 28, 2011 - 21:05

Many thanks to the Todoist Team for your Effort restoring all the data ;-))
Many thanks also for this great Service you provide since years!

CH
Corstiaan Hesselink
Replied on Jul 28, 2011 - 21:21

My sick dependance on Todoist became obviously clear yesterday... :-). A new day at work and I see Amir is still working hard to fix it.

Go! Go! Go! Amir! You can do this! Amir rules! Yeah!

E
Ebloz
Replied on Jul 28, 2011 - 23:17

Dear Todoist-Team,

you say, no data has been lost, but I consider the order of tasks as data.
Especially when subtasks appear in wrong parent tasks.

Yes, it's all scrambled and it will take hours for me to get this fixed.
I am furious right now...

At least let us users know that you are aware of that. and that you can or can not fix it. We're left in the dark... again.

I
isabaite
Replied on Jul 28, 2011 - 23:27

Same here :( It might seem like a small thing, but the sub-task feature is no use if the order of the list changes (do I need to still email for this project? or was that task for this one? or this one?)

I understand that this is a one-time massive event and causing a lot of problems for the team at Todoist, but the lack of communication is really really frustrating and poor customer service.

When this first happened, I could not access the support site (server too busy) so eventually had to ask a friend who also uses todoist what was going on. This is unacceptable particularly as I had already visited the todoist home page and logged in before trying to get to the help page, so there were plenty of opportunities to provide a service message.

There is still no message on the home page, which means that people are still discovering the mess with no warning.

I've been using todoist for a long time (since 2008 I think) and it is usually very very good so this lack of communication is particularly disappointing.

David Trey staff
Replied on Jul 29, 2011 - 00:37

Hello,

some of your tasks may be in wrong order. We are aware of this and we're fixing this right now and will continue so throughout the whole day so eventually the order of tasks will be restored as well.

We're very sorry for the inconvenience :(

Also, you may see a wrong task count on some or all of your projects. This can be fixed by adding 1 task to each project and then reload the page using Ctrl+F5.

Thank you for your patience and your continued support.


Best regards,
David

L
Lior premium
Replied on Jul 29, 2011 - 00:59

Hi David.

Due to this problem - I've manually reordered my tasks/subtasks (took about 30 minutes).

Could you please make sure the fix does not cause a mess for those who reordered/fixed their task list manually in the past few hours?

Thanks,
Lior

TA
Thomas Armstrong
Replied on Jul 29, 2011 - 03:04

Any news? Is this already repaired?
I still see wrong counts for my projects...

L
Lior premium
Replied on Jul 29, 2011 - 03:05

In the last week or so, "saving as" Todoist pages produces a blank page (it worked before!)

So we can't even backup the task list.

David Trey staff
Replied on Jul 29, 2011 - 04:36

Hello,

@Lior
All your tasks will be fine after the restoration.

@Thomas
if you see a wrong task count on some or all of your projects, please add 1 task to each project and then reload the page using Ctrl+F5.


Best regards,
David