+ Add Question

Hiding Subprojects on ipad

DH

Any way to hide sub projects on the ipad?

All responses

Brendon Wadey staff
Replied on Sep 02, 2013 - 16:23 UTC

Hi Denise,

At this time there is no way to hide sub-projects unfortunately, but we have this implemented on other platforms so this will happen in the near future.

Thanks,
Brendon.

DK
D K
Replied on Jun 04, 2014 - 05:18 UTC

Any updates on this? This would seem to be a rather critical feature if you have more than a trivial number of projects.

Clyde Romo staff
Replied on Jun 04, 2014 - 05:52 UTC

Hi Duncan,

We're hoping to bring it really soon. ;-)

Regards,

Clyde

CE
Charlie Edgington
Replied on Jun 04, 2014 - 08:11 UTC

Hi Clyde....

Please advise ... How close is "really soon"?

This lack of capability stops use of the application except when sitting at desk with Mac.

Regards,
Charlie

Clyde Romo staff
Replied on Jun 04, 2014 - 08:34 UTC

Hi Charlie,

Several factors prevents us giving a specific date though I can tell you that we are looking forward to seeing this feature ourselves. I know this is not the answer you're looking for but there are factors that could push the date back (internal and external reasons). Our developers are working hard to add more functionalities in the iOS app as fast as they can.

I suggest you come back 2-3 weeks later to check if we have released this already.

Regards,

Clyde

CE
Charlie Edgington premium
Replied on Jul 11, 2014 - 07:37 UTC

Hi Clyde

I am returning as you proposed having been for more than 2- 3 weeks waiting! O:-)
! How are the team doing in adding this capability to iOS? Is there a date in mind?

Regards

Charlie

David Trey staff
Replied on Jul 11, 2014 - 11:37 UTC

Hello Charlie,

Unfortunately, we never plan release dates first, but adjust them based on when the added feature is pretty much ready for publishing. For now, I can't give you any information on when this option will be available :-(


Best regards,
David

CE
Charlie Edgington premium
Replied on Jul 11, 2014 - 11:59 UTC

Thanks for your reply.... Your app works well on the Mac but I need this to reflect well on iPad version with ability to hide sub-projects. My projects number level is high and sub-projects is therefore vital. Once this is available on iPad I can move away from another application I use on Mac and iPad! ;-)

Wiwat Boonpaisanseree premium
Replied on Jul 14, 2014 - 15:56 UTC

I am waiting too.

S
Slingback premium
Replied on Oct 05, 2014 - 18:09 UTC

And me

CE
Charlie Edgington
Replied on Oct 07, 2014 - 08:08 UTC

Is there any update on timing for sub-projects on iPad?

Clyde Romo staff
Replied on Oct 07, 2014 - 10:35 UTC

Hi Charlie,

We still don't have an ETA yet but we'll update this thread when it becomes available so you will be notified about it.


Regards,
Clyde

JL
Jose Lino premium
Replied on Oct 17, 2014 - 22:23 UTC

Pretty much needed when working with several projects.

CE
Charlie Edgington premium
Replied on Oct 17, 2014 - 22:31 UTC

You are right! This is the big missing ingredient that stops me moving 100% to Todoist. Most of us have projects and putting folders of projects each with their own tasks and supporting documents is the right way forward. It keeps us sane and well in control.

F
Fernando premium
Replied on Oct 18, 2014 - 17:51 UTC

Thisvthread has one year and the ussue is still not resolved...

SA
Steve Antkowiak
Replied on Oct 20, 2014 - 16:32 UTC

I totally agree!! Way too long for a critical feature.

For the time being, I have moved back to 2Do.

If you have a Mac, then I suggest moving to 2Do. It is a very robust app that has many of the same capabilities as Todoist, but with the added benefit of being able to have duplicatable Templates right on a mobile device. I don't have a Mac, so I was looking for something similar that had a good PC interface.

I will definitely not renew my Premium Membership if this feature isn't added, as well the ability to copy Projects to create new Projects from a template and will just get a Mac.

Todoist is two major features away from total domination of this category and for the life of me, I cannot understand why the one we are discussing is not a major priority.

If 2Do creates the same interface for the PC as they have for Mac, they will wipe ToDoist off the map, so they won't have to worry about this or any new feature.

CE
Charlie Edgington
Replied on Oct 21, 2014 - 11:23 UTC

Todoist team - How is your work progressing for the iPad/iPhone version with sub-projects management in place?

David Trey staff
Replied on Oct 21, 2014 - 11:48 UTC

Hello Charlie,

Unfortunately, we don't have any updates reg. this functionality at the moment, but we'll look into implementing this in next versions of our app.


Regards,
David

CE
Charlie Edgington
Replied on Oct 21, 2014 - 12:06 UTC

Thanks for your open answer - there is no clear way to this issue being fixed. I had hope this would be sorted with iOS 8 as it is an ongoing challenge.

SA
Steve Antkowiak
Replied on Oct 21, 2014 - 12:42 UTC

Crazy! I cannot understand how a developer can honestly put this out as viable for ios use and then charge for it. The mere fact that you cannot compress and expand makes me more UNPRODUCTIVE. Can someone from Todoist please tell me if I can get my money back. I didn't cancel in the allotted time because postings like the one above by Clyde Romo suggested that this fix was coming soon and it seems it is nowhere in the near future. PLEASE REFUND MY MONEY. That 2-3 Week post amounts to deceptive fraud.

David Trey staff
Replied on Oct 21, 2014 - 12:51 UTC

Hello,

We've very sorry to hear this :-( Our devs work on tons of features and improvements the whole day, every day. This is something that will obviously be added in future updates, it's not a matter of it, but when and the truth is - we can't tell for sure when it will be added exactly, we work on features until we're satisfied with the results rather than until we meet a deadline.

Steve - your payment is refunded.


Regards,
David

CE
Charlie Edgington
Replied on Oct 21, 2014 - 13:03 UTC

As it is core capability for me and I had believed this fix would be with us soon.... "will obviously be added in future updates" This is vague! I now need to find an alternative ...... I would also like to request a repayment of my money.

David Trey staff
Replied on Oct 21, 2014 - 13:15 UTC

Charlie,

Yes, it will definitely be added, we have no reason not to add such functionality to the iOS app. The only hold-ups are other features which we sometimes have to launch for all platforms simultaneously to avoid further delays in the implementation of upcoming features, but again - collapsing tasks and projects will definitely be added.

As for your refund request, your account seems to be free, do you have a separate Premium account?


Regards,
David

CE
Charlie Edgington
Replied on Oct 21, 2014 - 13:29 UTC

David, Just checked my account status ... Premium Expires on June 08, 2015 ... Not difficult for me to see really. I suspect the registration is through a different account email. By private email I can tell you. Please write to me outside the forum on the email this is on and I will get back to you directly. Thaks.

David Trey staff
Replied on Oct 21, 2014 - 13:54 UTC

Charlie,

Done, message sent from david@doist.io


Regards,
David

SA
Steve Antkowiak
Replied on Oct 21, 2014 - 21:11 UTC

David,

What a shame!

You have an excellent product just one HUGE and one VERY BIG component away from domination on the ios platform and for some reason, you guys choose to be doing something else.

I also want to say that you have EXCELLENT support response.

Why on Earth would you not just put this on ultimate priority with a deadline. If you hd done that, I wouldn't have requested a refund, but we have been asking...no begging for this for over a year and still nothing.

I don't know if you realize how close you are to scoring the winning touchdown, yet you choose to down the ball on the one yard line.

Inexplicable.

DK
D K
Replied on Oct 21, 2014 - 21:26 UTC

Seriously, what's up with this?

This is an absolute must-have feature to make the product useful for more than casual users, it's implemented on other platforms and looks like a pretty trivial UI-only change. It's not like implementing this requires core code changes or database changes, and it's not like the iPad is a minor platform.

This was promised to be "in the near future" over a year ago, and still nothing. What's the hold up? What is it that you guys could be prioritizing over this feature? I really don't get it.

I was waiting for this feature appearing to sign up for the premium service, but at this point I think I'm just going to go back and look for a different option. Somebody upthread mentioned 2Do. Maybe I'll go with that.

S
Slingback premium
Replied on Oct 21, 2014 - 21:49 UTC

Well, I am standing up for David Trey and the support guys on this. App devs must get hundreds of requests from subscribers, each one thinking that their request is the most vital for the functionality of the app. They can't do them all, however much they or we might want them to.

It isn't as if the app costs a fortune - I can't even fill up my car with petrol for the annual cost of the premium edition.

I'm going to add that I think it is totally out of order to use a Todoist forum to promote another app. This is not the place.

DK
D K
Replied on Oct 22, 2014 - 01:31 UTC

Slingback,
if this feature isn't in the works for iOS, then no problem; support could just say so.

Instead, we've been told that the feature is imminent for over a year, including suggesting that it might be released in 2-3 weeks back in June. I have genuinely been putting up with the very awkward functionality on the iPad (the only device I use for this app) for that time hoping that it would actually get fixed and would have switched to something else a long time ago if I had known.

Giving up at this point...

F
Fernando premium
Replied on Oct 22, 2014 - 06:13 UTC

Yes, probably I will leave too. It is taking too much time...

SA
Steve Antkowiak
Replied on Oct 22, 2014 - 12:50 UTC

Slingback,

I love the Todist Support Team!!!---they are excellent, their product is almost excellent and I would be willing to pay even more than what they ask if it could do the two remaining critical items that I am requesting, BUT they haven't and worse yet, there was one post from the Support Team that indicated it was immanent when it wasn't even on the drawing board. That is misleading. Period. I do give them kudos for the refund when they didn't have to. That scored big points with me and I will definitely return if they fix the issues I have requested.

As for mentioning a competitor on their forum, if they can't stand the heat, then either fix what is a HUGE drawback for many people (not an individual request as you seem to imply in your post) or don't put up a forum. My post was to help others who are experiencing the same frustration as I have and may not have known a suitable alternative until Todoist makes this issue a priority.

SA
Steve Antkowiak
Replied on Oct 22, 2014 - 12:53 UTC

I want to reiterate that I would run back to ToDoist if they fixed the Showing/Hiding issue at least.